Day 16: It’s Open!

TV news reporters, headline article in the newspaper, the town’s a-buzz over the new grocery store opening. The signage on the outside promises “Good Food for All.” Of course, I had to be a part of this excitement. Don’t you just love wandering a grocery store when you don’t have to collect the weekly groceries?

They opened at 6 a. m. but I waited until about 10:45 to make my way over. As I pulled into the parking lot, I noticed every spot was filled and there were cars roaming the lanes looking for a spot. Was that a spot on the side? Darn, someone pulled in front of me to claim it. Now it was serious business, it’s just like the challenge of Christmas mall parking. Follow the people to their car and wait to claim your spot. Just as I was rounding the corner, a man got into his car to leave. Victory for me in the parking lot!

I really intended just to roam about, no cart needed, but right at the door they had fresh pineapple for $.99. How can I resist? Another score for me because there was a mini-cart available. What other treats could I find?

I meandered through the store noting that their prices weren’t especially great. In the wine section I found the Merlot we like on sale. This store has a bar and tap room tucked into a corner.

Other unique features found here:

  • a juice bar as you enter the store
  • a Starbucks (not so uncommon anymore)
  • a chop shop (they will chop your vegetables or fruit for you, $3 for five minutes of chopping)
  • an extensive bakery section (of course they had samples of several breads for patrons to try)
  • a brick oven pizza where you can buy a slice or whole pizza
  • a chocolate shop (they make the candy there, I may have enjoyed a couple of samples)
  • huge meat and seafood counter
  • a cheese area (sampled an expresso coated cheese, quite tasty)
  • a section of ready prepared food or boxes with ingredients assembled for you to prepare

I’m sure there are more sections that I will discover when I return another day. Hopefully there will be fewer people and more parking. New grocery stores don’t open up every day, so you have to seize the moment when one comes along.

Wine area, boxed meals to prepare, produce section, bakery

 

 

21 thoughts on “Day 16: It’s Open!

  1. What a phenomenal place! I sure hope the demand it there to support such an operation. Sounds like one could spend quite a bit of time wandering and consuming.

  2. You are lucky like my husband. You scored on the parking and the shopping basket! I love your reference to Christmas mall shopping and following people to their car. I’ve totally been there. Pine Apple and wine sound good right now đŸ™‚

  3. Healthiest grocery store about the beautiful vegetable display, but you know what caught my eye? Those cakes! Thanks for the pics and have fun exploring your new store. We have a new store in town too, but the prices are rather high. However, I do shop their weekly ad.

  4. That’s what I call one stop shopping, which I’m sure is what the store id going for. This makes going grocery shopping an event. Enjoy your outings.

  5. Our local grocery store is a chain, and has recently changed hands. It looks nice enough now, but I can’t find anything! I’m going to have to just go there when I don’t need anything – like you did. I’ll end up with something, but I can’t feel a time pressure when I don’t know where they’ve relocated the stewed tomatoes… New stores are fun and challenging! I really like the looks of your area’s new store. Great pictures… hope the parking issues settle down in a short while!

  6. This looks like a fabulous store! Elsie, I have never heard of a chop shop section of a grocery store, but I do not shop at Wegman’s. You made me very hungry, and I just finished breakfast! I loved the description of parking and how you found a spot. This post is interesting, and the photos are definitely worth adding. Thanks! I felt like I was along with you for a tour around the store!

  7. Sounds fantastic! I am always in awe of US grocery stores…usually I’m super overwhelmed by the choices and spend hours wandering, but I’m always in awe. Thanks for sharing a peek inside your new one. đŸ™‚

  8. Judy C. says:

    I’ve this advertised and reported on the news. It looks like a fantastic store. Guess we’ll need to check it out when we get up there. They have a similar store by Michelle’s. It’s called Mariano’s and it is just fun to walk thru and check out each section. A new pass time?

  9. Somehow you manage to write in such a way that makes me want to go visit this grocery store the next time I’m in town. Maybe we could field trip during staff meeting??? This certainly sounds like a different kind of grocery store. They chop all your veggies for you? Interesting idea.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.