Day 5, Let Me Do It

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

I have a confession. I’m a little obsessive about one thing. (Okay, no comments needed here, maybe there is more than one thing.)

I know you just want to help, but don’t. Step aside. Let me do it!

I don’t like anyone else to load my dishwasher. Certain dishes go in certain places. I can’t stand for someone else to put dishes in the dishwasher, because they never put them in the right place.

After dinner, I don’t mind help rinsing the dishes, but don’t load them! I will do it. Let me do it, I know where they go. No, no, you can’t put the bowls there! They go here. This is where the dinner glasses go. Plastic cups over here. Large spoons and ladles go here.

My husband understands and accommodates me. He does a great job of putting in his breakfast dishes. If lunch doesn’t involve a lot of dishes, I’m okay to let him place the pieces in the dishwasher.

But dinner is another story. By this time space is limited. It takes a calculated perusal of the situation to get the maximum number of dishes in and allow them all to be cleaned. Several rearrangements occur. Once I’m satisfied with the location of each item, soap is loaded, the cycle started, and my job is done until the next round of used dishes and utensils.

So I ask, is there anyone else out there who has this obsession with loading the dishwasher just right?

