Day 1 Are You Scared?

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Let me answer the title question, YES! The writing adventure begins today. This is my seventh year tackling the challenge of writing every day. Every year I wonder what will I write about every. single. day.

Last week, I decided to peruse through Kate Messner’s book, 59 Reasons to Write, hoping that there would be a spark of inspiration I could use. She did not let me down. I found help for today in Lesson 7: Writing Scared. She talks about two kinds of fear. One keeps you safe from dangers, but the other is the uncomfortable feeling we get when we are about to try something new. The fear starts to whisper in your ear, “What do you think you are doing?”

She reminds me that this fear is one to seek because it stretches you as a person. She says, “So go on now. Be scared. Be brave. And write.” This is the month I stretch a little more as I write, try on some new types of writing, and find joy in the smallest moments of the day.

She ends the lesson with a prompt: Sometimes, writing scares me because . . . (feel free to use this prompt on a day you are stuck)

Writing scares me because it’s personal. It’s you sharing your thoughts for the world to critique and analyze. Isn’t that what my teachers did for every piece of writing I completed? Did anyone ever talk to me about my work? No, it was simply returned to me with all my errors glowing with red markings. My paper became my teacher’s paper. It said what she wanted it to say.  

I didn’t think I could write anything that someone would want to read. That thought stopped me, until I began writing small slices of life for thirty-one days in March and on Tuesdays the rest of the year. The comments fueled me to continue writing. I still didn’t see myself as a writer for a very long time. Now I have to acknowledge, yes, I am a writer. So, even though writing scares me, I know I can do it.

So come along with me this month, perhaps I will look to Kate for more ideas, or share a recipe, or try poetry, or find inspiration within the slices I read. This is the month when I stretch my writing muscles. I. Am. A. Writer.