Paris

Before the world closed down, I spent several days exploring and enjoying the sights and tastes of Paris as an extension to a river cruise. The memories of that trip linger in my heart and mind.

But they are not the Paris I refer to in the title. This is the image and scent I am thinking about today.

For years I have used this lotion! Recently I learn that Bath & Body Works has retired this scent! 😦 My tube was on its last squeeze and I happened upon an outlet store in Kentucky, so I thought I’d run in a get a new tube. That is when I discovered there was no Paris Amour!

Finding a new scent at Bath & Body Works is difficult in good times, but wearing a mask renders this task nearly impossible! There were lots of sample bottles of the new summer scents available, but which one is right for me? Fortunately, I was the only customer in the store. My husband was waiting outside, so I needed to be quick. I would take the scent testing paper, dab a bit of lotion on it, and sniff while holding my mask open. After a half dozen sniffs, I could no longer differentiate between scents. Not wanting to commit to a full 8 ounce tube, I opted for the smaller 2.5 ounce container of Sunshine Mimosa. Perhaps this will become my new favorite, but it won’t bring me memories of Paris every time I reach for a dab of lotion.

Don’t you have a story to share?

9 thoughts on “Paris

  1. crushlevine says:

    This calls to mind so many items that have been discontinued over the years that I miss. I feel your pain! The idea of choosing a new scent through a mask perfectly captures the idea of futility. Even with a brief mask release, I imagine the scents commingled too easily.

  2. I am wondering did you take Worddancerblog’s advice and order your familiar Paris Amour OR will you explore a new relationship with Sunshine Mimosa? I never have thought about the names of my lotions perhaps it is because I seem to favor unscented drug store brands. Maybe I need to take a Bath and Body Works stroll as you described!😃

  3. It’s so frustrating to lose a favorite scent. My favorite perfume was discontinued a year and a half ago, and I can’t find anything I like as much to replace it. I will say though that Sunshine Mimosa is full of promise based on that name!

  4. I just can imagine this step by step process you took for the new scent. If you love your new scent… I’d recommend a few tubes. I think I need a few more lilacs in my yard, Dave pruned to heavy and we haven’t had the smell for 3 years… until now. He loves the pruning shears! XO

  5. Joyce says:

    Sorry you had to look for a new fragrance in your cream. Maybe you will have a fun exchange w/someone as a result.

  6. Oh, I feel your pain. I made my way to the Estee Lauder counter recently to discover they have discontinued my favorite foundation. Not scent connection, but I hate searching for new products, especially now. Hope you enjoy Sunshine Mimosa (it’s a great name).

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.