Day 13: Is There Hope?

Weather report prediction: snow with morning temperatures at seventeen degrees.

My heart sank like the Titanic. The peach tree in my backyard was in full bloom. Seventeen degrees spelled certain death to every blossom and future peach.

The tree before the predicted snow and temperature drop.

Not again, I thought. Several years ago, the tree did not bear one fruit. It never even had the opportunity that year to produce a blossom. The cold froze the buds just as they were forming.

Last year, my husband and I draped the tree with sheets to protect the buds. That would not be possible this year. The tree was simply too tall.

All day I waited for the snow to begin. It didn’t. Maybe, the temperature won’t drop tonight. I went to bed with that flicker of hope. At first daylight, I checked the tree. The blossoms were still there. I waited until it warmed up to see if they would continue to hang on. They did! I went out for a closer look. Pink blossoms littered the ground.

Those peaches died an early death.

Wait! Look up!

Hardy blossoms weathered the cold night. Branches continue to sport their finest pink jewels. Thankfully the temperatures only dipped down to thirty degrees during the night. One cold snapped weathered, but more are predicted all week long. Will these blossoms hang on or will they all be littering the ground by the weekend?

 

