Day 15: Thirty Minutes

Can you really run into the grocery store and be out in less than thirty minutes? Rarely does that happen to me.

What about reading? Just let me read thirty minutes. What? My time is up, are you sure it wasn’t just ten minutes?

The recipe says thirty minute prep time. As I’ve stated before, that never works for me. Sorry dinner will be a little later tonight.

Thirty minutes evaporates whenever you are totally engaged, but I have found one activity where thirty minutes feels endless, time crawls.

Knees go up, knees go down, around and around, faster, slower, never stopping.

Every day I face thirty minutes with resignation as I climb on my bike connected to a trainer in the garage to begin nonstop pedaling. A TV on the workbench tries to distract me from the inching of time. Pedal, pedal. I pick up my phone looking for distraction. Pedal, pedal. I can read email, three minutes pass. Pedal, pedal. What else can I do with my phone? Pedal, pedal. I’m limited because I seem to move too much. My finger hits the wrong thing if I try to play Solitaire or Word Warp. Pedal, pedal, pedal.

Finally, the timer sounds! The pedaling slows. I’m sweating, breathing heavily as I gingerly climb off the bike. Thirty minutes completed! Until tomorrow . . . when the pedaling begins again.

23 thoughts on “Day 15: Thirty Minutes

  1. Oh, Elsie, today I ran into the supermarket for 2 things and should have been in and out in 10 minutes.. By the time I got to checkout, there were 5 things in my basket. Left empty handed–didn’t have my debit card. 10 minutes became well over 30 as I now have to return to the market…in any case, time stands still on the treadmill, the stationary bike, and especially the elliptical machine. 30 seconds feel like 10 hours-of torture. No solution to the time standing still problem, but got a chuckle out of your piece today. Thanks. Be well.

  2. I’d strap on headphones and listen to music or a podcast – or get in position in front of a tv show. It is awesome that you are doing this! Very important 30 minutes!!

  3. Oh boy, it is that boredom while on the treadmill or bike that does me in. Time crawls. And often….I can’t bounce around and read without misstepping on the treadmill and potentially killing myself. I can SO relate to this post. How do you motivate yourself day after day?

  4. lindabaie says:

    It helps pass the time when I go to exercise at the gym. Then I can talk to others! It’s all about the POV, isn’t it?

  5. Love the post…well written…including us in the action. Love the photo…the dreaded exercise machine. Love the thoughts about thirty minutes. Your experience makes me think of my visits to the dentist when every minute seems like ten. But as many have already said here today, time is relative to how we are experiencing it.

  6. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    Funny how 30 minutes doing one activity you love is never enough time and 30 minutes doing another activity you don’t so much love can seem like forever. I guess it’s like watching a TV show for a full 30 minutes without fast forwarding through commercials … That seems like forever now too! Hang in there! It’s good for you!

  7. You might want to check your timer. It might be doubling the time you set it for. 🙂 It is funny how our perception of time changes depending on if we enjoy the activity we are engaged in or not. I applaud you stamina for sticking with it til the timer sounds.

  8. Ugh! The longest 30 minutes in the world is right there in that pic. Great slice! Reading for 30 minutes?! Over in the blink of an eye. Kudos to you for getting back at it every day!

  9. Oh, this is a wonderful post and has me thinking about what can and cannot be accomplished in thirty minutes! Your examples are wonderful, and yes, we know that each minute is “filled with 60 seconds worth of distance run,” but time does seem to move faster or slower depending on the day, time of year, and the activity we are engaged in. Loved the “pedal, pedal, pedal.” A gentle reminder to me to put more exercise into my daily routine. Thank you, Elsie!

  10. I truly believe that thirty minutes can be shorter or longer depending on the activity! Something that always keeps me going is an audiobook. I borrow them from the library. Right now I am in between my audiobooks while I wait for one I have on hold. Believe me, it makes a difference in my walks.

  11. Judy C. says:

    I totally understand how that 30 minutes can seem like hours – a necessary evil that will keep us fit and healthy. Spring will soon be here and off you go on your “real” bike to conquer the world. Keep at it.

  12. I love this! I hear you on this one. I think we have all been in some way or another. Is there a different type of exercise that you could do instead? I found when I find something i enjoy doing, I stick with it longer and time flies. I guess in the winter you are a bit limited !

  13. The slowest thirty minutes ever! Bravo for hopping on and hanging on through the boredom. I know you’re looking forward to better weather and thirty minutes (or more) outside on the bike. And I’m looking forward to the pics you’ll take and the slices you’ll share of the scenery from that bike seat.

  14. I hear your pain! Try watching a show on Netflix. That worked for me this summer when I was trying to start walking. I found a show I enjoyed and only let myself watch it when I was on the treadmill.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

