Day 6, Eat the Rainbow

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

How can I resist when the snippet of email came through with this invitation –

yum

I have a love/hate relationship with cooking. I enjoy creating great tasting food. I like the challenge of trying something new. But, I get tired of figuring out what to eat every night for supper. So when something new comes along, I will give it a try.

I scanned their bouquet of recipes and found two that piqued my interest. (Why couldn’t I be happy with just one recipe?)

Rainbow Vegetable Spring Rolls – I love fresh spring rolls at the Thai restaurant we visit, but I have never made them before. Rice paper wrappers might be a challenge. Plus, they are to have a mango in them. I’ve never bought, let alone cut up a mango.

Thai Green Curry with Spring Vegetables – I do enjoy a Thai curry and especially one with a coconut milk sauce, another new challenge for me.

After printing out the recipes, I made my list of items I would need to create these dishes. I found most of the items needed at the grocery store, but not the rice paper wrappers. I needed to visit the Asian img_1287grocery store for them. When I walked in, I thought about asking someone where I would find the rice paper wrappers, but when I looked up, my problem was solved. Then I spent a little more time just looking around (I do love wandering a grocery store).

Here are the special ingredients needed that I didn’t have already in my kitchen.
img_1229

I began around 3:30 chopping, slicing, dicing. I wanted extra time to prep. The recipes give suggested prep time, but that’s never accurate for me. I must be slow at preparation.

First up, the Rainbow Vegetable Spring Rolls. I stirred together the dipping sauce in the recipe. Uh-oh, the recipe says sweet garlic chili sauce. My jar does not have that word sweet in it.img_1291 I googled the difference. Hmmm, seems like I don’t have the sweet, but it’s only 1/4 teaspoon, so I go ahead and use it. The prep was complete, I just needed to assemble them at the last minute.

Brown basamati rice needed to get cooking, it takes forty minutes plus another ten to sit. Then I tackled the curry sauce. Since I had everything chopped, it went together perfectly.

img_1290

img_1292Putting the spring rolls together were a little tricky, but with practice I think they will look better in the future.

Finally the moment of truth. Is this a bust (where the recipes will go to the trash) or epic (where the recipes will enter the cabinet where hundreds of other recipes reside)?

img_1293

It was totally . . . epic! Both recipes are a keeper! They were scooped up and sent to the cabinet to be used again and again. The only change I would make is not to make the spring roll sauce on the recipe (it was fine) but to go to our Thai restaurant and buy their peanut sauce for dipping.

If you have a hankering for some Thai, click on the links above. These two recipes will hit the spot and the bonus is they are vegan and vegetarian friendly. Bon appétit!