Day 3 “How Did I Not Know That?”

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

“What is your schedule like this week?” asked my 86 year old mother.

I filled her in on the next two weeks of my working schedule but added that I would be busy because I was writing and posting on my blog every day this month. I saw a look of confusion pass across her face.

“Mom, this is the seventh year I’ve done this. I’ve told you about it,” I responded.

“How did I not know that you’ve done this for six years?” she said shaking her head in disbelief.

“Since you don’t have a computer, it didn’t seem relevant. But I know I’ve told you about it.”

“Do any of your friends do this too?”

“Well, actually one person from work does it too. Through writing, I made friends and met some of the people who read my writing. Plus, I read their writing too. Remember Kim from California or Ruth? I knew them first from reading their writing. In fact, I have met quite a few blog friends.”

“What do you write about?”

“Ordinary things, small moments from my day. Like today I wrote a poem about things I see out my window when I sit at my desk.” I know she’s thinking, that doesn’t sound very interesting. I’m thinking I just found my slice for tomorrow.

As I get ready to leave, she is still musing over the fact that I could have been doing something for six years and she had no knowledge of it.

