Day 30: Encounters of the Phone Kind

Encounter #1: The first time it happened, I was taken aback. I was getting into my car after a day of working, and thought I’d better check to see if I had any texts. My ringer had been on silence during the day.

How did my phone know I was going home? That freaked me out a little. Then when it happened again and again, I assumed this was something built into the phone that always told you how long it would take you to get home. Hmmm, is someone tracking my movements?

One morning I got into the car, looked at my phone, but this time it was telling me how long it would take me to get to one of my schools. What? I wasn’t going to that school. The three days before I had gone to that school. Apparently it had been tracking my movements and assumed I would be returning to that school. This was getting a little creepy.

Now I look at my phone just to see where it thinks I’m going. Sometimes it’s right.

Encounter #2: As I climbed out of my car, I heard a voice talking to me from my front left pocket. Had I pocket dialed someone? Quickly I pulled the phone from my pocket. Apparently, Siri thought I was talking to her. I must have bumped something because I certainly don’t talk to her. When I have actually tried to use her, she never understands me. I was not about to engage in a conversation now.  I quickly turned her off. She must have gotten her feelings hurt because she remained silent until. . .

Encounter #3: I was sitting at my desk, talking to my mother on the house phone. My cell phone was sitting on my desk, when all of a sudden Siri began talking. My mother heard the voice and asked if someone was with me? I laughed and said no, it’s just my cell phone. Once again, Siri didn’t make any sense.

Have you had any surprises from your phone?

Side note: elsie is my blogging name, my real name is LeAnn. 🙂 At least she knew how to spell my name right.

 

 

15 thoughts on “Day 30: Encounters of the Phone Kind

  1. Hahahaha! My phone is equally creepy and my Siri is just as ridiculous! Maybe it’s a phenomenon? This is so rich though. I was smiling, nodding my head thinking I could see your face in these moments. Like what the???

  2. carwilc says:

    Sometimes I kinda miss my dumb flip phone. I don’t like my phone telling me where I’ve been or where to go. And I don’t like Siri one little bit!

  3. mandyrobek says:

    My phone use to tell me how far to get to school but I haven’t seen that as much lately. I wonder if it’s in the settings somehow, somewhere. I’m not a fan of Siri so she just popping in like that would wig me out a bit. I hope you sleep tonight.

  4. I loved this post! The first time my phone told me how long it would take to get to school freaked me out because I wasn’t expecting that message, either. When I get in my car to leave school at the end of the day, it always tells me how long it will take to get home. Once I asked Siri to set my alarm and she responded “Don’t wake me up.”

  5. lindabaie says:

    You can turn off Siri and location, Elsie. That might help. What alarms me, too, is how intuitive my browser is. I can barely start typing and it brings up the website. Now with the new coming release of net information, scary. Funny to hear about your mom asking if someone is with you!

  6. Stuff I order on Amazon shows up on the ads on Facebook…that really creeps me out! Auto correct changes my words too many times and leaves glaring spelling mistakes/typos alone…embarrassing when I only notice right after I hit send.

  7. Judy C. says:

    Guess that’s one reason I don’t have a smart phone! It’s kind of scary for a phone to know that much about your coming and goings. Too funny about Siri. I have Alexa on my Kindle and she doesn’t understand me either.

  8. Now that’s downright disturbing, but it does sound like you’re being tracked. And now we’ve lost all rights to our privacy online as well. What the hell! I can’t think of anyone but Big Business who thinks this is a good idea. And isn’t it in some way anti-American?

  9. Interesting that your phone would just start doing this tracking thing. I have Alexa…..she tells me to “Sleep tight,” at night. I think, I am not alone. Sometimes when I am on my phone, Alexa thinks I have spoken to her. Funny.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.