What Does This Mean?#26

Mikesmine

Can you spot the differences in the pictures above? The one on the left was waiting, on the island in the kitchen, for my husband when he got up  February 14. The one on the right was also on the island when I got up. Hmmm. . . what does this mean?

You will notice it is the same bottle of wine in each photo. This is the first time we have ever bought each other a bottle of wine. My cousin spoiled our palates with this wine last fall. (Rombauer Winery, cabernet sauvignon) It was so smooth and buttery, we loved it! Then we found out how much it cost. Yikes! That is way above what we usually spend on a bottle of wine. (You can tell we are not wine aficionados, but we do enjoy a nice glass once and a while.) However, the idea was filed away in my mind that this might be something special to get some time. Apparently, my husband filed the same thought away.

One day as I was shopping, I saw the dark chocolate mint flavored M & Ms and knew that would be something my husband would love. He went to a small patisserie and bought hand-made dark truffles for me. Obviously, he wins on that point. Finally, we each had a card in a red envelope.

I burst out laughing when I saw the items on the island. We’ve been married thirty-five years. Are we morphing into the same person? This was too funny but yet a bit scary.

The truffles were delicious!

The truffles were delicious!

25 thoughts on “What Does This Mean?#26

  1. Scary, nor funny, crossed my mind. I just kept thinking, “SO SWEET!” I love it!! Now – the big question – next year, will you still buy TWO bottles of the perfect wine, or since your covers have been blown, will you make it a tradition to buy one every year??? 🙂 I think the tradition should be TWO! With chocolates! And a red card! SO STINKIN’ SWEET!

  2. hahaha, that’s hilarious, Elise! I burst out laughing when I saw this. My husband and I have known each other for 11 years now (married for 5) and we’ve always joked that we’re slowly turning into the same person. I’m glad we’re not the only ones! 🙂

  3. I love it! It speaks to how well you know each other, how much you have in common. I think it’s great that you think similarly! It’s obviously working for you!

  4. Funny…and I had to do a double take looking at the pictures. You are not morphing into the same person… you just know what the other would like…and sometimes..it is the same as what you would like.

  5. Absolutely fabulous! I love the two picture comparison. I love the fact that after 35 years you know one another and still can be surprised. We’ve been married 21 years and I’m amazed at the new things I keep learning. Rekindles the fire. 🙂

  6. Ramona says:

    This one made me laugh! My sister and I have often sent each other the same card, but never an identical gift purchase. You know each other well!

  7. pinkieup says:

    Haha – great story! My husband and I have been together for 10 years now and I often wonder the same time. Very cute – not weird at all!

  8. This is amazingly awesome. 🙂 Hah!! It’s cracking me up. Just the sight alone when you both saw eachother’s gifts and the looks on your faces, must have been priceless. That is hilarious, romantic, and sweet… As long as you like the person you’re “morphing,” into, what’s so bad about morphing into the same person? Two become one, right??

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.