Dinnertime #27

It’s 10:45, oh no! I meant to put the roast in the crock pot at 9. Hmmm, what to do? Change dinner plans and do something else or turn the crock pot on high, hope and pray there is enough time to cook the meat. I opt for high crock pot heat.

I spring into action. Fortunately this recipe has minimal ingredients and there is absolutely no prepping needed. One critical element is the crock pot liner. If you don’t use them, you are missing the boat. They make clean up a breeze.

Yes, it only takes 3 ingredients: roast, cranberry  sauce, and onion soup mix

Yes, it only takes 3 ingredients: roast, cranberry sauce, and onion soup mix

Within five minutes the crock pot is on high and all it needs is time to create the magic which will turn into the entree for dinner. By dinnertime this will be full of a barbecue-like sauce.

Onion soup is on the bottom, cranberry sauce is scooped out on top of the roast.

Onion soup is on the bottom, cranberry sauce is scooped out on top of the roast.

I leave home for several hours, but when I return the scent of the simmering meat greets me. Quietly I breathe a sigh of relief, this smells right.

Dinnertime rolls around, the additional sides have been prepared and the moment of truth is about to happen. I lift the lid. I poke the meat, looking to see if it is fall apart tender. It falls apart. Yes, it is tender! Dinner is saved. Dinner is served!

Check out all that juice.

Check out all that juice.

19 thoughts on “Dinnertime #27

  1. “It smells right.” Isn’t that SO true?! I day dream about the smell of my home when I am at work and I know the crock pot is preparing dinner for me! That first breath when I walk in the door is as good as my first breath of fresh air at the end of the work day!

  2. Ha! I was a little worried as I was reading that you would be eating pizza. You actually built up some tension for me over a crock pot. That’s some good writing! Glad dinner came out well. DId you drink one of the wine bottles?

  3. Mmmm! I love crock pot dinners and crock pot liners! πŸ™‚ Your sauce looks good, but I don’t like cranberry sauce so I’m not sure if I’m brave enough to try it…

  4. I love the cooking bags for pot roast and turkey. Will look for the crock pot liners. I once had a recipe for cranberry sauce cake that used mayo as well. I should probably google it.

  5. I love my crockpot, and will have to try this recipe. My go-to recipe for roast has the onion soup mix, but with cream of mushroom soup. I think the cranberry sauce looks like step up! I haven’t tried the liners, but I have a friend who swears by them.

  6. Ramona says:

    Can’t wait to try out your recipe and use a crock pot liner. Brilliant idea! Where do you find the crock pot liners?

    • Where I shop (Walmart Supercenters) you can find the liners in the aisle with the foil, wax paper, etc. Usually they are on the bottom so you don’t see them unless you are looking. Oven cooking bags work too, but they are so big.

  7. Tam says:

    You can have your own cooking blog, Elsie. I love AllRecipes and their videos. Never put cranberry sauce into my beef. I’ll give that a try. I see you have Great Value foods where you live, too. Never tried the bags either. Thanks for all the info.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

