Slow Sunday #25

Rain changed over to snow,  just like the weather man had predicted. The grass disappeared within an hour of the precipitation change. Once again trees and shrubs wore their frosty coats. I am hoping this will be the last time for many months.

The day moves in slow motion, in contrast to the whipping wind outside my windows. This is not a day to leave the warmth of the house. So small tasks that had been put off, are completed. Receipts are filed, expense reports and time sheets are completed, and books are returned to shelves.

The day continues to crawl along. It is quiet. There are no sounds other than the wind gusting, loudly at first then dying to a whisper. It is a constant battle of strength. I begin The False Prince, but my eyes grow heavy. My head throbs with each word I read. I close my eyes and rest.

Although my body seems still, my mind jumps from one topic to the next. The most pressing need is I need a slice for tomorrow. How can I describe this day?  Slowly I plan it out as I drift away for a few minutes. I am aware of the wind again, the creaking of my husband’s recliner as he leans back. My slice that sounded so good in my head moments before, evaporated as I turned on the computer to begin composing. My fingers could not remember the words to type.

Time for contemplation is gone, supper must be prepared, My time on the couch has ended for this afternoon. A slice has been written, all the while the blustery wind has caused the trees to perform twists and turns they did not know was possible.

19 thoughts on “Slow Sunday #25

  1. Even though I complain about snow and winter, I have appreciated the snow days this year–the ones that have forced my whole family to slow down and let our eyelids get heavy. I love that you just embraced the day and didn’t spend the time wishing for crocuses and sun.

  2. Tam says:

    This is such a wintery piece. Isn’t interesting how late snow creates sleepiness and the doldrums compared to the first snow of winter. Your post sure made me sleepy.

  3. Where’s my blanket? My book? My tea? I want to curl up. I want to watch out the window. I want to wander in and out of sleep with no worries, no cares, just a gentle ease to the day…. ahhh…

  4. I read this in slow motion, too! How did you do that? It is something in the pacing of the words and sentences. It was quiet but not exactly peaceful as your weariness with the day came through.

  5. mrssurridge says:

    Here in Southern California we described today as “a little chilly”. During this slice challenge I have read so much about the snow and how long you all have had cold weather, that every time I heard someone say that today I shared what I’ve been reading. While we came to the consensus that we have empathy for everyone east of us, we certainly wouldn’t trade places!

  6. I just read the False Prince a couple weeks ago! It’s a real page-turner once you get farther into it. I think you’ll really like it! I just got the 2nd book from the library and I’m anxious to start it. Your post conveyed your feelings about the weather so powerfully. I hope spring starts acting like spring soon! 🙂

  7. Jaana says:

    “My fingers could not remember the words to type.” From now on I will always blame my fingers when I cannot get my writing done!

  8. There was something very gentle and calming in this piece even though the wind was blustery. I could feel and etching out of a path as your words moved over the page. It was calming.

    I really hope spring arrives soon!

  9. So funny about this storm. I had a similar kind of day on Saturday, then you on Sunday, now Katherine, and b. It wasn’t a blizzard type, but I guess strong because we had those winds too, Elsie. I was so happy to stay in because I often don’t get to, but this time I stayed! You described the day beautifully, weaving in & out from the sounds to the thoughts, drowsing through.

  10. nanc says:

    Actually, right now, I feel a nap coming on. I’m glad things got done, I’m glad you got to slice and make dinner. I felt very cozy in this slice…thank you always. xo

  11. The day continues to crawl along. It’s hard to write about the slowness . You have given the feeling perfectly. The wind tough gives plenty of action outside.

  12. Slow and methodical is right.. What a great “feel,” your slice has to it. I can;t exaplin it, but your words come out like a whisper. There may not be a whole lot of “action,” per se, but I found myself feeling an odd anticipation the whole way through. Then you sort of coast out to the end. Pretty cool. 🙂

  13. b says:

    I echo your slice today as I watch the same storm cloud my mind and yard :). I also compose brilliantly away from the laptop or my notebook, only to find nothing when I have the opportunity to write. Love that. P.S. Your weather descriptions co-mingled with your thoughts is a winning combination.

  14. I could hear that wind whipping thru the trees and see the grass disappear. I know what you mean when you wrote: “My slice that sounded so good in my head moments before, evaporated as I turned on the computer to begin composing. My fingers could not remember the words to type”. Somehow, it all seems better in my head than it does when I write it.

  15. Ramona says:

    “I close my eyes and rest.” The best part of a Sunday afternoon. I love the slow rhythm in this piece and the contrasts between the crawling day, the whipping wind, and your jumping mind.

  16. I like how you intermingled the weather with your mental swirling thoughts. I do hate it when I have a mental slice ready and then it slips away when I begin to type.

  17. Your post moved slowly and methodically like your day. The composition did not suffer from your nap. I usually relish these days, but I know they are getting old, and it’s time to be able to get outside and enjoy the spring sun. I hope that happens for you soon.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

