It’s Time for Spine Poetry! #22

It’s that time of year again! What time of year? you wonder. It’s time to scan bookshelves, searching for titles that will create a spine poem. Once you have selected the titles, you stack them, one upon another to create a poem from the spines of your books.

Travis Jonkers, from 100 Scope Notes (http://100scopenotes.com/) puts a call out each year for your (yes, you) spine poetry. He said, “If you do give it a go, take a picture and post it to your blog, or send it my way via email (scopenotes (at) gmail (dot) com). On Tuesday, April 2nd I’ll be posting a gallery with all your work, and continue to add to it for the entire month.” Click here to go to a page of hints and examples of spine poetry.

So before I left home, I scoured my bookshelves.

walterpancakeswrittenSo what are you waiting for? Get out there and start pulling books to create your own poem. Don’t forget to have FUN!

27 thoughts on “It’s Time for Spine Poetry! #22

  1. These are fun! I especially love, “Written anything good lately?” Every time I see these on someone’s blog, I think I will try them, but I haven’t quite pulled it off yet! Maybe in April!

  2. Judy C. says:

    So much fun. I did this with song titles from my MP3. It’s amazing the kind of story you can tell just from titles.

  3. Elsie, you’ve inspired me once again. I dove into my bookshelves this morning to join you for a spine poetry post. I love the first one and that final line – the rain came down!

  4. Tam says:

    Maybe I’ll prepare one before I leave for Indy in the morning. Then my grandkids will take me away………..not from posting, just with ideas.

  5. Elsie, I love these. It has instant appeal. It reminds me of collage poetry, where you cut phrases and words from a magazine and arrange them in lines to create a poem. I will definitely be giving this a try as I have a number of poetry presentations to do this year and this will add an added dimension. Many thanks.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.