Writer’s at Work #21

Check out more slices at Two Writing Teachers

Check out more slices at Two Writing Teachers

This week I get to observe teachers and students in writer’s workshop. This is my second year of working with this group of K-2 teachers. Last year our focus was on developing balanced literacy in the reading block of their schedule. This year the focus has been implementing writer’s workshop. My week will be drawing to a close on Friday and I will travel back home where I will evaluate what I have seen, so that I may continue to guide them as these teachers work to deliver the best practices in literacy instructions.

I have watched mini-lessons that range from learning how to use commas in a series, adding details to enhance the writing, discovering the how-to writing genre, being aware of sentence fluency and how it affects the piece of writing, using transition words effectively, and narrowing the focus of their writing. Then I get to watch the students in action. The quiet ten of no walk, no talk is delightful to watch. As I sat in class yesterday I tried to put into words what I was noticing. My two word sentence poem was born. The soft classical music was just the right note to begin stirring my creative juices.

classHeads bend

Pencils move

Brains think

Eyes read

Papers rustle

Music calms

Minds engage

Brows furrow

Pages turn

Writers create

Writer’s workshop is a good place to be, no matter how old you are.

24 thoughts on “Writer’s at Work #21

  1. I wish you were at my school, encouraging my colleagues who do NOT use writer’s workshop at all! 😦 I wish you were there to stand beside me, too. BUT it is not to be so I am so thankful that you are out there observing, encouraging, and noticing the wonder. I play classical music, too.

  2. As one who does this too, Elsie, I loved hearing you talk about your work. Like others above, I’m not familiar with the ‘quiet ten, no walk no talk’ either. Great lines. Your poem is beautiful, shows that it was a very good day!

  3. I’m not familiar with “The quiet ten” and I love the line “The quiet ten of no walk, no talk is delightful to watch. ” I can imagine you observing these students! Really enjoy the two word sentences, a lovely poem. What a special time you had, working with these students!

  4. I’m in constant admiration of those who teach writing from the very beginning. It must be so challenging, and yet so exciting! Your poem describes a joyful, learning-rich classroom. Love it!

  5. mrssurridge says:

    I would love to have someone like you at my school! I would welcome the observation, suggestions and collaboration. I love Writing Workshop but sometimes long for someone else who could encourage me when I feel stuck. Nobody else at my school does it. Your teachers are really blessed to have you.

  6. This makes me want to get back into the classroom. I did not know what you meant when you said quiet ten…but figured it out. It is what I used to do but had no name for it!.. Your two word poem led me right through the writing process as I could see these young students going through the steps. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  7. Isn’t it great that the quiet ten gave you a chance to write too. I hope that the workshop was as inspiring and productive for the students.

  8. Tam says:

    I’m with you, Elsie. Writer’s Workshop lives! “Brows furrow.” Wouldn’t you like to know what they are thinking right then?

  9. I love March because I focus on writing right beside my students. They know not to disturb me unless they’re on fire or bleeding. Quiet ten is a new term for me, but I plan to use it. as well as the phrase “no walk, no talk” with my sixth graders. Your two word poem is perfect!

  10. I do love the quiet 10 so much. This school looks like they are in great hand. The two word poem that you created is very fitting. Does the teacher engage in conferring after the quiet 10 or during…just curious. This is what I would like to do full time…after…xo

Thanks for taking time to comment.

