Saturday to Celebrate

Saturday rolls around and it is time to reflect on moments of celebrations from the past week. This week I have finished all my work in schools for this school year. (So I guess you could say, my summer vacation has started. 🙂 )

I have been working three years with this one school.  As I walked into the school I noticed subtle changes from my last visit in the fall. The walls have the usual art projects and student work, but there was something more.

Papers popped up asking the question What is your favorite book? Why? Because  . . . At the bottom there were three teachers’ names. Lift the flap to find out. Under the flap you will find a picture of the teacher holding the book.

photo 2 (5) photo 1 (3)

You will find signs outside teacher’s doors stating the college they graduated from and the question Where will you go?

photo 3 (1)The fourth grade just completed a poetry unit, so they had tables displaying their poetry books.

How can you resist this book?

How can you resist this book?

Hot reads were displayed outside the rooms and even in the window of the office.

Literacy is a priority in this school.

I celebrate the literacy journey that these teachers are taking their students on.

16 thoughts on “Saturday to Celebrate

  1. Tam says:

    The fruits of your labor. Special time for you. Congratulations on reaching Summer Break when most are just celebrating Spring Break!

  2. b says:

    So awesome to see the fruits of your labor — that warms my heart :). It also warms my heart that you’re embarking on summer vacation. How awesome! Enjoy your weekend… b

  3. What great changes have taken place. At the last Scholastic Book Fair at out school each teacher was given a Teacher’s Choice sing to put up for students to see. It was amazing how many students checked this out before buying a book.

  4. Ramona says:

    Elsie, I love the title of that poetry book! When I read earlier this week that you were finishing at a school, I thought it was just one of your schools. Happy beginning of summer!

  5. Like Michelle, my first thought was that you should share this with the school. It must have made your heart feel warmed, Elsie, to see the evidence of your work, especially since you are now moving on. What a great celebration!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.