Spine Poetry Time

Every year Travis Jonkers, at 100 Scope Notes, puts out the call for spine poetry. He creates a gallery of all submissions. The concept is to create a poem using only the spines of books stacked upon each other.

It is a delightful time to browse through the titles on my bookshelves to see what I can create. It puts titles in a whole new light when you are searching for a particular part of speech to complete the poem. If you look long enough, hard enough, you will find all types of inspiration. One day I may even go to the library to create my poems, but for now I’ll play with the books on my shelves.

Here are my submissions for this year:

spine 2

spine '14

20 thoughts on “Spine Poetry Time

  1. You are a pro at spine poems elsie! These are great! I am looking forward to digging into my shelves, and the many kids shelves, to see what goodies await me. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. I got his ‘call’ but still haven’t done it yet, Elsie. These are wonderful, both creative & unique. I think I have all those PD books, too! Maybe many of us do! Thanks for telling about the spine poems. There’ll be a rush now, I bet.

  3. A book spine poem at least once during March, thank you for the reminder. I like that you created two poems. The first one made me think of a rainy day, the second one is a power boost for writers.

  4. I love your spine poems! I’ve tried a few of my own, but they are pretty tricky. It looks so easy, but just like any type of found poetry, you’ve gotta work with what you’ve got! 🙂

  5. These are great! I was not aware of Spine Poetry. I will need to share this idea with some of my former colleagues. With my collection of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and James Patterson books I am not sure what kind of poem I would come up with.

  6. Lynn says:

    I am always amazed at the spine poems people create!!! I’ve tried but well let me just say have not posted any . . . You may have inspired me to keep trying 😉

Thanks for taking time to comment.

