Numbers and Trivia

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

This month, Alan Wright posted a slice titled, The Synergy of Words and Numbers. I found his list an interesting assortment of personal trivia. Which led me to wondering what kinds of trivia with numbers are to be found in my life. Alan stated, “Words and numbers are both wonderful things…”

So in no particular order, here are some numbers and trivial bits of information I’ve collected over the past few days related to my life:

I taught in only 3 schools over the course of 33 years.

I have taken 9 ocean cruises (the first being in 2003), 2 river cruises, and 1 barge cruise.

I had 2 cats (sisters) for 18 years.

I attended 6 schools during my K-12 education years.

I completed my undergraduate work at 1 college in 3.5 years.

I have owned 5 homes with my husband of 38 years.

Together we have owned 43 cars. (We’ve always had 2 cars, sometimes 3.)

5 of the cars were Chrysler minivans.

I have been on 4 different continents.

I have lived in 6 different states.

I have been to the top of the Eiffel Tower at night 2 times.

I had 1 permanent back tooth pulled due to a massive cavity when I was 10.

I have held 8 different jobs since I began working at age 16.

I had 2 basset hounds.

I have been to Amsterdam 4 times.

I have 25 books by Steve Jenkins on my bookshelf.

I have had 3 laptops.

I have seen Les Misérables on stage 6 times.

There are 3,616 photos and 45 videos on my iPad.

I have 2 bikes.

I have played over 10,000 rounds of Draw Something with 1 person.

I have been to the national Reading Recovery conference 7 times

I live 1,500 miles away from my son, daughter-in-law, and 2 granddaughters.

I have visited 36 foreign countries, so far. (I’m not finished traveling.)

I have 120 tulip bulbs popping up in my garden where I plant tomatoes.

I have 19 Chris Van Allsburg books.

This month I have written 8,631 words and included 147 pictures (many were combined into a collage) in my daily slices.

3 bookcases in my office room are filled with books: picture books, chapter books poetry book, professional books. I hesitate to count them.

What numbers and trivia are present in your life?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

28 thoughts on “Numbers and Trivia

  1. This is a way cool list. You have tied together so many interesting and seemingly random facts, that tell so much about you. I love that you have all those Steve Jenkins books. It makes me wonder how many he has written???

  2. I love thinking about numbers in my life however, I want to talk more about your numbers. 43 cars? Is the National Reading Recovery conference the one here in Ohio? I’m so close to that one, if it is. You’ve been blessed to travel so many times. I’ve never left this continent – 0. I’ve been to 1 other country – Canada. I have 3 girls. It will take me along time if I keep my numbers in sequence.

  3. 43 cars? Wow! This is such a fun post! What a cool way to play with numbers and learn many interesting tidbits about you all that the same time. I think I will need to try making a collection of my own numbers.

  4. So glad you found yourself enjoying words and numbers Elsie. What a curiosity arousing list you have compiled. I found myself instantly intrigued with 43 cars! These lists always throw up some statistically amazing facts and trivia. Yours is to be pondered and celebrated. It is unique to you, but also thought provoking for those of us with whom you have shared it. It provides insight and understanding. I too have gathered multiple Chris Van Allsburg books. How many? -I’m off to count them now…

  5. I really enjoyed this slice because I had the opportunity to learn so much about you! Congrats on all those meaningful numbers, especially 38 with your husband!

  6. A fun list! My “WOW” moments were: 3 schools in 33 years — haha! I’ve been in 10 in 9 years! (Oh, those traveling Spanish teacher days seem so long ago now!) And 43 cars?!?!?!?!
    My favorite: 36 countries?! That’s awesome. Good for you! 🙂

  7. Melanie Roy says:

    This is a fun slice, Elsie! You can learn a lot about someone with those numbers! I laughed when I read that you have 25 Steve Jenkins books on your shelf. 25! You have led a solid yet very interesting life. 🙂

  8. I, too, had to re read the 43 cars…woah. And you have travelled a lot. Lucky for us, though, you travel with a camera and treat your readers to the sights and eats of wherever you are these days.

  9. I have enjoyed reading all 30 of your slices this month and many more on Tuesdays before!!!
    I will enjoy reading your 31st March 2016 slice tomorrow. This was fun; and I really enjoyed reading all the number-related facts about you!!!

  10. I love this idea, too. I lived in Paris for 16 months, spent 2 additional summers studying there, and visited 3 other times and have never once gone to the top of the Eiffel Tower!
    The tulip bulbs, the cars, the countries visited…all impressive!
    Interesting compilation of numbers.

  11. Terje says:

    43 cars? I read this line twice, making sure my eyes weren’t playing tricks. I hope that Estonia is on your list of countries to visit.

  12. I love seeing all these “numbers” about your life, Elsie, had no idea that you’ve been on so many cruises & traveled so much. That is just wonderful! And the Steve Jenkins’ books-wow! I own a lot of books, but not so many by him. Now, you’ve probably got us all counting things, all through the day!

  13. Judy C. says:

    Such interesting statics you have shared. I’m envisioning those 120 tulip bulbs and thankful that we only have 586 miles from family. A format to remember for a later slice. Thanks for sharing.

  14. Love the format…it makes such an interesting read. That 1, 500 miles is the one that popped out- but I thought how the miles don’t keep you from being close.

  15. It must have been so interesting to tally up your life in that way. I’m sure there are things you learned about yourself by doing that that you wouldn’t have realized otherwise. I am too lazy to do the same…but I like the idea. I’m sure kids would like it, too. Wonder what categories they’d come up with? 37 countries…no wonder you seem so worldly. You are!

  16. lynn says:

    Soooo interesting Elsie! My mind is already thinking about the numbers and trivia that make up my life! Hmmm 4 times to Amsterdam!? It must be a great place to see!

  17. This is an interesting way to look back. I can see you spent some time collecting these data. I’m in awe of your travels. I moved around when I was in elementary school, always changing schools, but it was within a 50 mile radius.

  18. rosecappelli says:

    Some of these bits of trivia are indeed impressive! Thanks for helping us get to know you a little better. My mind is filled with the sight of 120 tulip bulbs popping up!

  19. You’ve owned 45 cars? And your cats are sisters?? Some of these are just astounding. You’re so well traveled! 36 countries? My list pales in comparison on so many of these common tidbits, but then clicking around and seeing this inspiration for what it is, it’s solely about your life identifiers and what stand out to you. I like it. Reminds me of how my 84 yr old grandmother brought you up this Easter weekend and said “that Elsie woman that reads your blog is such a thoughtful commenter. I like seeing what she writes before I write to you. She’s a one of a kind woman, you can tell.”

    • Please thank your grandma for me, that was too funny to read. As for the cars, my husband had car issues. If a car needed new tires, we traded. If it got to 40,000 miles, we traded. If it got hail damage or any other kind of damage (think deer), we traded. He’s since changed his ways. We buy tires now and we go to 100,000 miles. 🙂

  20. I also attended six schools in my k-12 education (it was k-13 in my case) nowadays we might raise an eyebrow at that. I love all these numbers. It has thinking about a few of mine.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.