Yogurt Aisle Aid

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Standing in front of the display case of yogurt, I was pondering whether or not I should buy some. Usually it is on my list, but I’d checked the stock in the fridge before I left for my weekly shopping expedition. We had enough to get us through the week. I didn’t really need it, but I had a price match this week. (Yes, I do shop at a super center Walmart and I do price match when the savings is greater than a dime.) I could save fifteen cents on each container. That’s a pretty good savings.

So, as I was eyeing the flavor choices, a man carrying an empty shopping basket walked up to the case. He approached confidently, but then as he surveyed the shelves of all the yogurt choices, his face grew paler and a slight look of panic took over.

“Oh my, there’s a lot of yogurt! I’ll never find the right kind for my wife. I’ve never bought yogurt before,” he said to me.

“I always send my husband with a picture on his phone. Maybe she could send you a picture,” I replied.

He pulled out a piece of paper and began to read from it, “Low fat, Great Value, four pack, banana cream pie.” Immediately, I knew what he wanted. I reached up and handed him exactly what he’d read. “Oh thank you! You’ve saved me a lot of time.”

“No problem,” I said as I rolled my cart down the aisle. He quickly reached up and grabbed another four pack of the same yogurt. I guess he didn’t want to be caught short on banana cream pie yogurt this week.