Unwelcome Guest

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

She dropped hints that
Her arrival was imminent.
Scratchy throat,
Heaviness in chest
All signs
She would barge in, uninvited.
She visited others
All winter long,
Now that spring is on
My doorstep
She popped in
For an extended visit.
She said,
“You are long overdue.
I haven’t seen you in a year.”
She brought me
Her finest
Hacking cough,
Thick phlegm,
Drippy nose,
Tired eyes,
Pounding headache.
She is a bad influence,
All I want to do is
Lay around
With my eyes closed.
It’s time for her
To hit the road,
Vacate,
Decamp.
I have work to do.
Good-bye cold,
I will not let you stay.
Pack up your symptoms and move on!
31 thoughts on “Unwelcome Guest

  1. I looked at your title and thought this was going to be a skunk or something! I was surprised. I almost never get sick, but I woke up with a cold yesterday. Can’t wait for this unwelcome guest to go away!

  2. Nina Anderson says:

    Oooooo! I love personifying a cold! What a great way to describe your symptoms-definitely an unwanted guest! Feel better soon!

  3. You always have the most creative personification slices, elsie! One of my favorite things about your blog! My visitor is here too, but mine is called allergies and she’ll stay til next winter… bleh!

  4. Tam says:

    I didn’t catch on at first, thinking some kind of animal/insect/unwanted being was at your door. Ha! It was all of those! Yes, rest only to post 2 more days!!! Get well, Elsie! Your titles always invite me into your blog.

  5. Melanie Roy says:

    Wow, this is awesome! I was not expecting this female visitor to be a cold! You got me and I loved it! I hope you’re feeling better soon. And way to have a sense of humor even when you’re down, Elsie!

  6. rosecappelli says:

    Even in sickness you write well! You have a special knack for personification, I think. Hope you feel better soon!

  7. lynn says:

    Even as sick as you sound and you still create an amazing poem! How do you do that??? Feel better soon Elsie! Hot chicken soup they say and plenty of rest!

  8. Elsie, another classic from your pen! I especially like your use of the word “decamp” and that last salutation: “Pack up your symptoms and move on!” Hoping you’re on the road to recovery!

  9. Now that’s an unwelcome guest, an uninvited visitor for sure. How dare she?
    I hope she packs up her belongings and moves on soon. Ignore her the best you can. Sleep. Drink lots of fluids and don’t offer her any. Make her take nasty spoonfuls of suppressants while you delightfully dip your spoon into some savory soups. Hopefully she’ll get the hint. πŸ™‚

  10. True that. Not a cold but our allergies are owning on us today. It’s awful! I love this – “decamp” – amongst other perfectly placed gems for evacuation and misery. Oh, feel better, Elise 😊

  11. Judy C. says:

    We have been fortunate (so far) that “she” has not visited us. Hope you’re feeling better soon. “She” does seem to hang on forever.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

