He Said/She Said

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Monday:

He said: I screwed up, the auto show doesn’t open until five on Wednesday. I can’t go because I have to work on Thursday.

She said: Oh, no! Maybe you can go over the weekend, I know that’s not your favorite time to go since it will be more crowded.

Days passed.

She thought and thought: I could go with him to the auto show. He wouldn’t have to go alone. At least I would get to eat out. Do I offer to go? It’s not my idea of fun, but I hate sending him off alone on the weekend.

She said: If you want I will go with you if you want to go to the auto show on Saturday.

He said: I wouldn’t do that to you. You would hate it. Why would you want to go?

She said: I hate for you to go alone. I could read in the car. I get to eat out.

He said: Thank you for the offer, but I would be more worried about you having fun. I don’t mind being alone.

He thought and thought: Does she really mean that? Would we have fun? Why not? We need to step out and do something different. We will need a new car one day, I can get some feedback on contenders.

Early Saturday morning:

He said: We could go up to Kansas City, eat lunch at the Plaza, then go to the car show. Are you sure you want to do this?

She said: Just let me get my post written and posted. I’ll have to do comments when we get home.

So he and she spent the day in Kansas City. Lunch at the Cheesecake Factory, yum! Meandered through several stores on the Country Club Plaza that we don’t have in Springfield, no purchases. Spent several hours looking at new cars. He hopping in and out of cars testing the comfortability of the front seats. She on the lookout for give aways by the dealers. She collected several reusable bags for grocery shopping. She disappointed that there wasn’t more interesting things being given away.

All in all, a good day for he and she.

These are the cars I loved, not the new ones. Pasta Carbonara for lunch. Couple shots from the Plaza.

These are the cars I loved, not the new ones. Pasta Carbonara for lunch. Couple shots from the Plaza.