So Much Depends . . .

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

My stomach dropped as I listened to the weather forecast for the next couple of nights. Temperatures were expected to plunge below freezing. I feared for the delicate peach blossoms. I feared for the hydrangea with new leaves popping out on last year’s stems. I feared for the tulip heads peeking out of the foliage. The forecaster said, “So much depends . . . ” and my mind called up William Carlos Williams poem “The Red Wheelbarrow.”  Here is my version: “Peach Blossoms”

 

so much depends
upon
the night’s temperature
degree
plus softly blowing
breezes
for peach buds
bloomability.
IMG_1973

Hydrangea hides under the ghosts at the top. Tulips quiver under the shroud on the left. Reachable branches have sails clipped to the branches.

The drop cloth sheets were called into action. Fighting wind gusts, my husband and I attempted to cover some of the limbs of the tree. It was a battle, but eventually a few branches sported a white cotton coat. The hydrangea and tulip beds were much easier to drape.

IMG_1975

Left side is frosted, right side is thawed.

 

 

 

 

 

First night of freezing temperatures came and went. The covers stayed put, another night of cold was expected. Second night of freezing temperatures came and left heavy frost on everything. A few hours of sunshine sent the frost packing. The coverings have been removed. There is still hope that some of the blossoms will become peaches.

Please let that be the last of the hard freezes!