Thorn

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

I climbed into bed, exhausted from the past few days, and savoring the feel of my own bed. My husband called from the other room, “I think I have a thorn in my finger. Where’s the tweezers?” He had been trimming the knockout rose bushes earlier in the day and he’d had gloves on the whole time.

The next thing I know he is at my bedside with tweezers and a magnifying glass. I hold the magnifying glass, while my husband attempts to extract the intruder. But the minuscule sliver of a thorn avoids the tweezers.

I take over tweezers duty. With my finger, I gently move it back and forth to locate the tip of the thorn. I can feel it, I can’t see it. I squeeze the skin to try to make it move forward. I check with my finger, gently moving over the wounded finger. Yes, it is out a little more. The tweezers move in to pluck. Success! Immediately he feels a difference in his finger.

It’s amazing how something so thin and small can cause so much pain.

I can't believe we are already getting leaves on the rose bushes. The lodged thorn was not the size of these thorns, but it came from theses bushes.

I can’t believe we are already getting leaves on the rose bushes. The lodged thorn was not the size of these thorns, but it came from theses bushes.

26 thoughts on “Thorn

  1. I love learning from you! You shine a light on the small and mundane and raise it to significant and even poignant. Added bonus was how you delicately described the lovely relationship between you and your husband. Kudos!

  2. You were a hero today. Incase you don’t have tweezers or they fail, you can use an ointment called bag balm for a couple of days and the skin softens allowing the thorn/splinter to easily come out. It takes time but sometimes fearful of tweezer people like this option.

  3. Oh, such a good description of taking the thorn out. Been there! And yes, it is so exciting to find new leaves sprouting on the rose bushes. I’m keeping my eyes peeled for the first rosy, buds of leaves. Can’t wait!

  4. I could just feel that thorn in my own finger, and thought of times Ray has had to use the tweezers getting cacti needles from mine. Glad that you were successful and that he did not jerk away right when you were about to pull the little guy out. Oh….and Ray found my camera in the pocket of my robe. I guess I should mention that. 🙂

  5. Elsie, you have roses! That need cutting back. We just got rid of snow today. I think I’d take the thorn if it meant I could be working out in my yard with my flowers

  6. I had my fingers crossed, hoping you’d be able to get that thorn! When my husband gardens, poison ivy leaps on him from yards away. Gardening is not for the faint of heart!

  7. Isn’t it amazing how something so small can cause such pain and frustration? I have rose bushes as well. The big thorns are the ones I watch out for and never get stuck in my fingers. It’s the little ones that lodge themselves under my skin and cause me to baby that spot until it works its way free. I think there is something to that.

    You were an awful sweet nurse to your hubby!

  8. Terje says:

    One small part of a day, details taking the reader right there with you, a perfect example of a slice of life.

  9. This is such a “real” description of a small moment that I was right there with you. But there’s a deeper lesson here too, which makes the writing SO good, because it makes me think more deeply: “It’s amazing how something so thin and small can cause so much pain.”

  10. Love this slice, but sorry for hubby’s discomfort. It takes a team as we advance in age and need the magnifying glass plus someone else’s touch and eyes. I was afraid it might end up in your finger!

  11. Lynn says:

    Ouch is right! Rose bush thorns and cacti thorns are the worst! Glad you were able to get it out, not good if the thorn would have festered in there!

  12. Judy C. says:

    Hubby had one of those thorns in his finger and it took over a week for it to poke its tiny head enough to grasp with a tweezers. I really think that those rose bushes don’t want to be trimmed or touched.

  13. A slice about a thorn! From the micro (your slice ) to the macro (my slice about the Iditarod) and everything in between. There’s room for everyone and everything. This is a slice we can all “feel!”

  14. This slice brought me right back to summer and trimming my own rose bushes. I always wear gloves, but sometimes it doesn’t matter — a tiny thorn sneaks through. Unfortunately, it usually takes a week or so for it to find its way out because I am unsuccessful with the tweezers.

  15. Oh, Elsie…you can make even the removal of a thorn fun to read! I’m gathering rose bushes for the farm, and I guess I shall have to now purchase a magnifying glass and tweezers, too.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.