How to Create a Sunroom

The sun shines brightly, but the air bites me when I step outside. My inner cat seeks the spot of sunshine to savor to warmth.

If only I could step out onto the patio in a glass encased room. I imagine the rays of sun captured by the glass, warming me through to my bones as I sit and read. But there is no such room at my house. Sigh . . . Perhaps I can simulate this room that I desire.

I assess my needs, they are few:

  • comfortable seating
  • glass surrounding me on all sides
  • glass above my head
  • sunshine

There is full sun on the driveway. Check. My car has a sunroof, sun above. Check. Glass on all sides, windows all around. Check. Leather seats that recline, very comfortable. Check. All requirements are met if I back the car out of my garage and sit in the driveway.

The first few moments are a little cool. Quickly the sun gets to work, warming the air and me. Internally, I am purring with delight as I read and soak up the warmth of the sun’s rays. Eventually I have to crack the door open, as it is too warm. Only a few minutes later, I can close the door and resume my basking in the sunshine. Now this is the way to spend an afternoon in my portable sun room.

20 thoughts on “How to Create a Sunroom

  1. This reminds me of sitting in our pontoon boat for hours while it was docked on our pier as a kid. My sister didn’t get the point of sitting on the boat and going nowhere, but it was something like your ‘sunroom’ effect. I like the way you captured your relationship with nature using a touch of humor here.

  2. Wonderful solution! Wish I could have shared some of our CA warmth with you. It was in the 90’s, and I reminded my sister that I ordered sunshine and warm weather, not hot weather.

  3. Judy C. says:

    I think you might be able to patent this idea! I could just hear your inner self purring. Delightful slice (again)!

  4. You crack me up! I can just see you sitting in your car in your driveway. My son asked me the other day if the neighbors think dad is weird because he just stands outside and looks at things. I better not tell him your story! 🙂

  5. Ha — inner cat, purring with delight, basking in the warmth of the sun. I never would have thought of this! What a great solution … I bet a portable sun room wasn’t on your husband’s car buying essentials list! I think he’s going to have to add it! 🙂 Enjoy the sunshine! The warmer temps will arrive soon …

  6. Perfect! You are so smart! I love this. It is also nice and quiet there. Maybe this could be my new writing spot! My office…oh, the possibilities. It even has drink holders…

  7. In my adolescence, we lived in a tiny house, no privacy except in my bedroom! I used to sit in my mom’s car outside in the fall & spring & do my homework! It was fine, private, & sunny, just like you described, Elsie. What fun!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.