Finding the Celebration

Each Saturday, Ruth asks us to take a moment to stop and reflect on the week. What do I have to celebrate? I begin the day thinking I have nothing to celebrate this week. I’m not going to post this Saturday. Then I read celebrations and my mind starts to spin. Yes, there are celebrations I can share from my week.

1. A walk around the yard leads to discovering the new growth that was not there a week ago. Hostas have sprouted, the hydrangea is breaking through, and the peach tree now has baby leaves. I know the blossoms will soon follow.

 

My asparagus! There are thirteen shoots , more pop through every day. Maybe next year we will have enough to eat.

My asparagus! There are thirteen shoots , more pop through every day. Maybe next year we will have enough to eat.

 

2. Time to spend creating a gift for a friend.

Used an idea from Pinterest to create this necklace.

Used an idea from Pinterest to create this necklace.

3. A friendly face who wants me to step outside.

Someone is tapping on the window.

Someone is tapping on the window.

4. Sunshine and warm temperatures to allow me to sit on the patio to read and capture pictures of friends who sing to me.

The birds sing loud and strong, echoing through the yards.

The birds sing loud and strong, echoing through the yards.

5. On Wednesday, my husband uttered some of my favorite words, “Do you want to go get pizza and a salad?”

Just when I think there is nothing to celebrate, I discover I was mistaken. There are so many moments to celebrate, I just need to look.

 

16 thoughts on “Finding the Celebration

  1. I love how you are finding celebrations in the simplest things. Thanks for reminding me to have my grateful eyes open to all that is around me. The pictures are beautiful. I especially love the cardinal picture.

    Jen

  2. Tam says:

    Yes, all one has to do is just stop and think and write. I have failed to write. I can still celebrate. thanks for all your small reminders.

  3. A week is seven days. I like that celebration isn’t just about the grand and sparkly but also about the simple and comforting. The green shoots of asparagus give a splendid reason for a celebration.

  4. Leigh Anne says:

    Isn’t it amazing how warmer weather brings out the best in plants animals and yes even people! I mean who could resist pizza and salad on a nice spring day!

  5. Jaana says:

    I absolutely love your photos! I have one of those red little friends next to my window. I am not sure how long I will consider him my friend…..Sitting on the patio; enough said! I can deal with the weather this week after experiencing the warmth and sunshine this week! Happy relaxing Elsie!

  6. Ramona says:

    Gorgeous birds! My husband just commented that the flickers are back. My daughter saw a redbird today. I love seeing all the signs of spring. Hope your asparagus keeps thriving and you get to enjoy it next year. Talk about delayed gratification!

  7. Isn’t it wonderful to get inspiration from the celebrations of others. Writers inspire things in our own lives. The birds in your pictures are so beautiful. I must say I don’t notice anything as spectacular in my backyard. Maybe I should look closer.
    And about Catalina– I’m not much of a camper either BUT it is worth the trip. Truly magical. I think islands have that miraculous quality – popping up in the blue vastness.

  8. My husband has been feeding birds in our backyard and we are starting to see so many colorful friends out there! I am not sure who is more excited: me or the dogs. The only thing better than pizza and salad is pizza, salad, and french fries! You certainly had cause for celebration this week!

  9. Pizza & a salad sound good to me! And just think, a week ago you were writing about sitting in the car to garner the sunshine there, & now on the patio! Hurrah! Love seeing the asparagus & the cardinal too, Elsie!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

