Can You Read This?

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

What do you do when you think back over the course of a week, and there doesn’t seem to be one single moment worthy of a slice of life? That is the sad state I find myself in this week.

One possibility is to skip the day. Unfortunately, that is the option I reverted to for several weeks. That is not the way to create a writing life. I need to eliminate that option. Can’t say I won’t use it again, but here I am clicking the keys to share a mini slice.

Another possibility is scroll through photos on my phone. Is there something there to share? Ah, yes, there was something that I saw on Facebook and saved in photo form. Thus creating today’s slice of life.

The brain is certainly interesting! Now, read this and think about if it gets easier the more you read.

figuratively-speaking

Just in case you couldn’t read this:

Figuratively Speaking

This message

serves to prove

how our minds can

do amazing things!

Impressive things!

In the beginning

it was hard but

now, on this line

your mind is

reading it

 automatically

without even

thinking about it,

be proud! Only

certain people can

read this.

Please forward if

can read this.

How did you do?

Thanks photos for giving me something to write about today. 🙂

19 thoughts on “Can You Read This?

  1. Understated & unexpected inspiration, Elsie. I love where you ended up from the blunt initial observation, “That is not the way to create a writing life.” The act of routinely slicing can indeed make us more observant. (At least, that’s what I keep telling myself as March approaches!)

  2. See you had a slice in you after all! It was fun and educational. Linda is right years of reading invented spelling with the Firsties helped. They do not usually use numbers for letters though so it was a unique twist.

  3. Glad you found a strategy to help make yourself write! Amazing how hard it is sometimes, isn’t it? That “skip the day” option is just waaaaay too tempting! I’m shocked to know that you struggle with it too, as you are always someone who has inspired me to keep slicing! 🙂

  4. I can so relate to drawing a blank as to what to write, notice I have not posted today…yet. I was able to read this with very little difficulty. I think I amazed myself.

  5. Terje says:

    It is puzzling how the brain works. Finding inspiration is part of the unexpected pathways in our head. Glad you found your inspiration and wrote today.

  6. lindabaie says:

    I imagine that many teachers of primary students do well with this, Elsie. They’re used to that challenge of invented spelling! It’s a fun slice, just right!

  7. I stumbled over the first two lines, then breezed through the rest, then returned to the first two lines and breezed through them as well. Don’t know what that means, but it does remind me of the mental agility we need to learn another language. A fun post! You did it, Elsie!

  8. I will often scroll back on the pictures of the week to see if I can come up with a slice. Sometimes I’m lucky and even find something. 🙂 I love the photo you shared. I am going to put it up on the Smartboard in my room today and see if we can read it. Have a great day!

  9. Judy C. says:

    Yes, our mind is truly amazing. The first line stumped me, but as I read on, it became very clear even for an “old” brain like mine!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.