Troubleshooting

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Something is not right with my computer and printer. I’m beginning to wonder if they are having a spat and taking it out on me. They are wireless, so I know it’s not the cable causing the problem. They are in the same room, so distance should not be the issue either. I know I need to take one or both to an expert who speaks their language, but I just have not had time to do so. I will probably need to consider that option.

In the good old days, when they were able to chat, I could hit <control P> and seconds later the document printed. I could line up a number of documents, one after another and eventually they all printed.

But one day, as I was happily pressing <control P> I got a message that it was still printing my document. What do you mean? I’m holding the said document! You did print that document. Therefore, since it was “still” printing, my current document had to wait. And wait . . .  and wait. It never printed.

I can solve this issue (so I thought), by deleting the one that says it is printing. It should vanish from the queue, right? It didn’t. It took quite a long time to be deleted. At least fifteen minutes pass and a message appears from the right side saying it can not print my original document (the one that had printed).

Google can you help? I read entry after entry of suggestions to solve this issue. I try a few of the suggestions. However, I never seem to have the same options available that everyone else has on their screens. I learned to live with my limited printing options.

Then the day arrives that tells me the printer is off line. How did it get off line? Once again, Google can you help? I try the suggestions. Once again, I am stymied by the language and ability to locate the right screens.

I turn off the printer and unplug it. I wait. I reboot, same results. You are off line. My final attempt is to shut down the computer. I wait. I turn it on and it prints. Yay! Victory! (sort of) It still won’t accept several print jobs and I always get the message it can’t print, when in fact it did print. My computer needs a check up. I think it has something to do with spooling.  It’s just so hard to leave it someplace for a period of time, but I think that time is getting closer every day. Why can’t they just get along and do their job? (sigh)

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Troubleshooting

  1. mandyrobek says:

    Wouldn’t it be great if you computer had a doctor to visit with health insurance. I know there are places you can get help but I admire your perseverance and patience.

  2. Joyce says:

    I have to admit to smiling while reading of your challenge. You have opened up a world of possible hardware spats! Can’t they all just play nice???

  3. Hahaha… I love how you turned a frustrating situation into a fun & entertaining slice! You are always so great at personifying things! 🙂 I was laughing out loud as I imagined you trying to tell the computer that you were holding the document it “couldn’t print” in your hand! 🙂

  4. We have all become slaves to technology. I am sure the man/woman hours spent trouble-shooting computer glitches is staggering. Just think what better use that time could be put to! Would we be willing to give up our computers, however? I think not!

  5. My laptop and printer don’t always speak to each other either. Totally frustrating. My problem is that sometimes I have to go into the devices setting and tell my computer which network it should be on. How it sometimes switches to a different network is beyond me. Maybe I could blame the cats.

  6. Terje says:

    Lets hope the problem can be solved and you don’t have to buy anything new. Sometimes when my laptop doesn’t work I go to someone who is tech wizard, ask them to pat my laptop and it seems to help. At school we also talk gently to the copy machine to keep it going. Things still stop working and then a tech guy is called for help.

  7. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    Ah, the beautiful mess that comes with technology! So. Frustrating. I think we have all been in your shoes. I take lots of deep breaths. I go along with my limited printing. I try ways around it. Shut down, turn on, try again. Sometimes you have to turn off and unplug the wireless router. It’s like the wireless gets clogged. Hang in there and good luck, Elsie!

  8. Oh my, and technology is supposed to make our lives simpler? It seems that I always have some version of a tech problem percolating. My fitbit talks to my computer for a bit, and then it stops. I’ve just decided, it’s okay that they don’t talk to each other. BUT, a printer and a computer? Those two have to get along. Good luck!

  9. Like you, I like to do my own trouble-shooting. Most of the Google fixes work, Every once in a while I have to ask our tech person at school. Do some more research now, before it happens again and maybe you won’t have to leave it.

  10. Judy C. says:

    I have had similar situations with my laptop and printer (which is wireless). I finally went back to plugging the cable in and voila it works every time. You might also try uninstalling and reinstalling the printer. That has worked for me. Good luck.

  11. lindabaie says:

    I spent a lot of time on a chat one evening getting my internet back up. Luckily I also can access a Verizon internet hotspot. When I’ve had printer problems of not “speaking” to my computer, I fixed it by going to the printer website and talking there. Maybe an answer? Sorry, it’s so frustrating!

  12. Wow what a great story even though it’s not fiction. I hate to ask for help and stages of effort and frustration you share feel like you’ve been here with me.
    Now what? Someone from the geek squad? A need piece of equipment?
    Customer service ???
    A go-to family geeker?
    Bonnie

  13. Wow what a great story even though it’s not fiction. I hate to ask for help and stages of effort and frustration you share feel like you’ve been here with me.
    Now what? Someone from the geek squad? A need piece of equipment?
    Customer service ???
    A go-to family geeker?
    Bonnie

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.