Creepy and Crawly

The darkness of night obscures things that might frighten you in the light of the day. You just have to trust that you are safe in the dark. This trust lets you sleep through the night and awaken when the sun rises to face a new day. Are you fearful or fearless each night when you lay your head down on your pillow? Several nights ago, my trust was shattered.

Something brushed against my neck, bringing me out of my sleep, but yet not fully awake. I moved my head on the pillow and out of the corner of my half opened eye I saw movement. That was enough to put me on high alert. Sitting up, heart pounding, I discovered a centipede scurrying across my pillow. Ewwww! I snatched my pillow and hustled into the bathroom, balancing the offending critter so it didn’t fall off. Quickly I shook the pillow and it dropped into the toilet. Soon it was whisked away in a whirlpool of water. (Side note: I did feel a pang of guilt, but the hour of the night did not allow me to release it into the wild.)

I returned to bed, but examined the bedding for any other critters. I laid my head down, but still felt the whisper of movement against my skin. I jerked my head up and scanned the pillow surface. Nothing there. It was a long time before I settled down and was able to fall back asleep.

Sleep did return, but each night I wonder what is hiding in the dark.

14 thoughts on “Creepy and Crawly

  1. Ramona says:

    Elsie, you’ve left us with a story that will have us checking our pillows. Any “whisper of movement” will be troubling my sleep for awhile after this story.

  2. Judy C. says:

    As you said, during the day, you wouldn’t have thought twice, but waking up in the middle of the night to something creepy & crawly is no fun. It’s “bug alert” time!

  3. What else is lurking? It is a good thing we mostly have trust because if the centipede had taken a different route you would have been none the wiser. I desire to be none the wiser. Perhaps I need to make that a nightly announcement to my unknown creepy crawlies! Ha…

  4. Eww, the things that lurk in the night. Fantastic description that will live with me. I couldn’t help but wonder about your foot. All healed and ready to fight off those creepy crawlers!

  5. So far the only thing that has awakened me during the night is a cat’s tail swishing against my face. Here;s hoping it is never more that that. I don’t even want to think about microscopic critters in bed with me.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.