It’s Okay to Celebrate

This past week has been an emotional roller coaster, but even in sadness there are reasons to celebrate.

Monday was the visitation and memorial service for my father. Family and friends gathered to support the immediate family impacted by my father’s passing. An uncle I have not seen for over forty years came to honor his brother. My cousin and his wife made the long journey from Wisconsin to Missouri to be with family. The family felt and appreciated the outpouring of love from all those who attended.

Tuesday brought a military farewell. It was a moving ceremony but also a celebration of the military service of my father. My brother spoke eloquently of the service, from all aspects of life, our father had provided.

I celebrate my friends who have been beside me and continue to check up on me. We met for coffee this morning. It was a celebration of togetherness. I know they will be there if ever I need something.

It’s okay to find celebrations, especially in times of sorrow.

 

13 thoughts on “It’s Okay to Celebrate

  1. I think it’s especially important to find celebrations in times of sorrow – in mourning your father’s loss you celebration what a remarkable life he led, the love and joy he inspired, and the legacy he leaves be behind. Thinking of you, Elsie.

  2. elsie, I’m so sorry for the loss of your father. It’s never easy. Your last line captures it all eloquently. Hold on to those little celebrations of life. Those are the special memories to cherish. Hugs to you.

  3. Thank you for sharing. Finding reasons to celebrate times of such sadness can be difficult. It’s very brave of you to find joy. That is the best advice I got in the time following my mom’s death in January. Find the joy every single day. Sometimes it is all you can do.

  4. Ramona says:

    I’m so glad you’ve been surrounded by friends during this time of sorrow. Sending my prayers and hugs today.

  5. I am sorry to hear of your loss. Yes, it does seem that sorrow and celebration can be all mixed together. I’m glad that you found comfort in the togetherness.

  6. So sorry to hear about your dad Elise. Wish I could be with you, friend but the his passing sounds like it was a celebration of his life. Tough to write now when his loss is so raw. I’m sending a hug 🙂

  7. I’m very sorry to hear of your father’s passing, Elsie. It seems that you all had much comfort in words and in togetherness. Wonderful to hear of seeing that uncle after so long. That is a blessing. Thinking of you with prayers today.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

