My Story

Hello! Let me introduce myself. I am a fledgling robin.

This was my home until mother and father so rudely (and unexpectedly) pushed me and my siblings out of this luxury high-rise viburnum bush nest.

These past few days have been trying (to say the least). Once I got my bearings, I discovered there’s a new world beyond the nest. I found out my legs could take me from one side of the field to the other by hopping. I think hopping is a perfectly fine way of moving, but one of the adults in my life is telling me to use my wings. I just don’t get the big deal. 

There must be a family reunion in the maple tree. I hear a chorus of chirping over my head all day long as I travel from one spot to another (you know, hopping along happily). Relatives zoom past me, urging me to spread my wings. Leave me alone! I’ll do it, but not yet. If only someone would bring me a nice juicy worm, life would be great.

Mama! Where are you?There you are, help me!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wait a minute, what just happened? How did I get here? Did my wings do that? Cool!

I think I’ll just rest for a bit. That was fun, but I don’t want to overdo it.

That rest gave me energy to explore more. What is that lady doing behind the glass? Wait a second, I have an itch. I hope she notices my steely stare. Stop stalking me lady!

In a day or so, I’m out of here. There’s a great big world to explore.Know a good place for juicy worms?

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

 

 

15 thoughts on “My Story

  1. What a great slice! We had 2 baby robins out of the nest and in our yard yesterday – and I can imagine they were saying exactly what you wrote. I got a few photos – yours are wonderful!

  2. I love this! I won’t teach RLA next year, but certainly something we can talk about when we talk about the major players in social studies and how perspectives can differ! Thank you for being the voice of a robin! 🙂

  3. This is a delightful slice. I love how you gave voice to this feisty fledgling and the accompanying photos are terrific! I kept thinking how thankful I am that this didn’t happen by our house as we have two feline hunters around. Thank goodness for happy endings!

  4. Priceless! I cannot believe what great photos you got of this fledgling. What great voice, too – I am always wondering what our furred and feathered friends would say if they could. Such a fun and uplifting read.

    • Thanks Fran, I think fear and a zoom on my camera helped with the photos. Fortunately, fledglings aren’t too quick to take off. I also think they think that if they stand still no one can see them. 🙂

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.