Taste of Summer

Lately I’ve been having trouble keeping track of the date and events related to the date. For example, I couldn’t believe there wasn’t more hype about the Super Bowl. On Sunday, I got up thinking that was the Super Bowl day (even though I knew Super Bowl was Feb. 3). I panicked when I realized my meal plans for the evening were a week away. I need dinner plans, what to do?

The weatherman said it was going to be in the 60’s. Hmmm . . .  that sounds like grilling weather. That would be a treat in January we don’t often have. “Would you prefer hamburgers or brats?” I ask my husband.

“Brats!” he replies quickly.

Whatever he chose required a trip to the store to gather the needed meat and buns. Off I go to pick up supplies, savoring the thought of grilled brats and vegetables. As luck would have it, the store-made brats were on sale and the bakery had brat buns. Yay! It must be a sign that this is meant to be. I also gather fresh blackberries that are also on sale. I’m thinking this is going to be a taste of summer tonight.

As I head for home, it begins to rain and the temperature is only 50. Hmmm. . . was the weatherman right? Will it warm up? Will I be standing out on the damp patio? All foods are purchased, so there is no turning back from this dinner.

All afternoon I scan the sky looking for breaks in the clouds, hoping the sun will cast a few warm rays in my direction. But alas, it does not happen. The warmth does not come from the sun, but my extra thick sweatshirt.

I do not stand guard over the veggies and brats. I am in and out, in and out multiple times. Finally, all food is prepared. Grilled brats and veggies are a taste of meals to come in warmer weather. I’m ready to shove winter aside and welcome spring with open arms, but I guess I will have to wait a few more months for that to happen.

Can you hear the sizzle?Can you smell the smoke?

Can you hear the sizzle?
Can you smell the smoke?

14 thoughts on “Taste of Summer

  1. Rae says:

    So foreign. While you hope for the summer days, those days in Phoenix feel me with dread. I savor the coolness of winter. Without ice and snow. I shall shut my applied winter mouth

  2. That. Looks. Delicious. Why didn’t I think of grilling out? It was nice to have a bit of a break from the cold and snow. Your meal looks delightful. I do love your sentence, “The warmth does not come from the sun, but my extra thick sweatshirt.” I miss my patio, the sun, and our grill. Thanks for sharing your story.

    Cathy

  3. I looked at this post at school, but it was minus the photo. Seeing the photo made me hungry for roasted vegetables. You’re braver than me to brave the damp patio. Loved this slice of summery taste!

  4. Jaana says:

    If I had a grill, I could have grilled tonight as well. Instead I ate a cold salad and listened to thunder! But it sure is warm enough. And think, yesterday we had a snow/ice day. Interesting….

  5. Terje says:

    A yummy slice. I like how you finish the description of preparation with a tempting picture. With the snow and cold it is hard to remember what summer is like.

  6. Phillip says:

    Oh my, aren’t we the delicate little flower! Some people will grill (ok, so they don’t linger too long at the grill,) when it is below zero and there is a foot of snow. But then they are the stupid schulbs who live on the 45th parallel.

  7. I was in shirtsleeves yesterday during errands & then it snowed last night. Very strange. Your post made me smile because I’m not ready to start wishing for spring yet, so-o-o far away, yet… The food smells delicious, Elsie!

  8. Judy C. says:

    You should have waited one more day – yesterday was absolutely heavenly – 77? unheard of on Jan. 28th. The aroma came thru loud and clear – you should have called – we could have been there in a couple of hours! Thanks for sharing a piece of summer in January.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.