Panic!

Where’s my phone? I reach into my pocket . . .  no phone. I start to pat all pockets on the fleece vest and pants . . . no phone. I check the outside pocket of my purse . . . no phone. I begin to dig through my purse . . .  no phone. My stomach drops to my heels. THINK!

The phone was connected to the charger, I took it off the charger. It was in my hand. I went into the restaurant to order dinner to take back to the hotel. I talked to the boy at the door, checked out the salad bar, and went to the bar to order my dinner. I got the to go containers and made my salad. Now I reach for my phone and it is not where I expect to find . Where’s my phone?

I take my salad out to the car so I can look for my phone. I look around my seat, no phone. Where is it???

I walk back to the front desk and ask the door greeter if he saw it. No, he didn’t. I ask the bartender where I ordered my dinner. No, he didn’t see it either. What do I do? Aha! The bartender says, ” Let me call your phone, then maybe we will hear the ring.” Great idea! I tell them it is an old phone ring and I will go out to the car and listen to see if it rings.

What did I do with the phone? I am sick to think that I’ve lost it. My mind tumbles through many thoughts and none of them are reassuring.

Yes! I hear it ringing in the car! Relief floods through my body, but I still can’t find it. I return to the restaurant to report that I did hear ringing, so it is somewhere in the car. I get the remainder of my dinner, but I will not leave this parking lot until I find that phone.

I kneel down on the ground (grateful that it is not wet or freezing cold) to check under the car. No phone there (that’s a good thing!). I move the seats. I pull everything out from under the seats (Triscuits? I forgot they were back there.) NO PHONE! I know I heard it, it has to be here. My hands are sliding between narrow openings searching for that rubbery feel of the phone case, all I feel is carpet and leather and frustration!!!

What else can I do? I am feeling better because I heard the ring, but I should have found it by now. My last attempt is to move the driver’s seat a different direction. And there it is!  The panic is over, but I am still unnerved by this experience. I head back to the hotel with my dinner (not that I have an appetite now) and my PHONE! Dinner is cold but I don’t care, I have my PHONE!

All I can figure out is that it slipped out of my hand as I unfastened the seat belt. I didn’t notice it because that is not the hand usually holding the phone.

How silly is it to be so tied to a piece of electronic equipment? I just know, I don’t want to live through this again.

16 thoughts on “Panic!

  1. Your experience triggered my own memories. I couldn’t find my phone this morning. Came home called Verizon to see if I had put GPS on it. They couldn’t tell. The lady commiserated with me.

    After hanging up my husband’s phone. He tried calling me when I went out to the pickup to search again. He had heard it near the kitchen. I searched it was between the pages of one of my cookbooks.

    Then we went out and I bought a case and a leash. Here’s to less stress. Your writing connected, what a great piece.

  2. Your piece totally stressed me out. I don’t have a fancy phone– only one of those little $10 crummy phones and it still stresses me out every time I lose it (at least twice a week!)!

  3. Ugh, the anxiety of feeling unreachable and unable to connect…you know in case there was some reason to connect. I so understand this anxiety that you felt. Such power in a little ringing machine!

  4. Oh, Elsie, I can picture you searching and digging and looking and pondering and wondering wishing all the while I could help you! It is amazing how we are so connected with technology — a phone can be a life line. So glad you had the happy ending of finding your phone. So, what are you going to do so THAT doesn’t happen again? 🙂

  5. Your varied sentences kept the movement going. I was with you through your search, my heart feeling anxious. I wanted to read the end just to make sure all was okay and was relieved when I did.

  6. I am thinking that maybe it is not the technology itself that was the loss, but rather the connection that technology provides. You definitely share a moment that is so well told we can all identify with your feelings!

  7. Elsie, a small moment in time, where great anxiety existed, be it briefly, but so clearly captured. It is easy to identify with your predicament. The voice in your writing was such a strong feature. I can use this as a mentor piece to illustrate how a moment in time can be filled with rich detail and tension.

  8. Well…you found it, that’s what counts. I go through this just about every other day…maybe I should have it on the same loop around my desk that holds my eyeglasses. You are right, though, Elsie – that little piece of technology has become key to one’s peace of mind!

  9. I was with you the entire piece. Your missing technology woe is certainly a universal theme. I know we’ve all been there, panicked, when we cannot locate that little phone of ours. Personally, my problem is that I have a very subtle ring (a doorbell ringtone) that I keep on low so I can never hear it when I cannot find it. Kinda of silly, eh?

  10. jee young says:

    Ahh, I don’t know what I would do if I lost my phone. I feel like I’m way to attached to it, now that I can check e-mail, internet and everything else on it. I could feel your frustration as you were going through your search. Glad that you found it in the end!

    jee young

  11. Great scene for a book. Once again, the small brings out the human condition!! I have a Kindle story I should share–inspiration from Elsie once again!!

  12. Oh my, I hate losing things & have trouble doing anything until they’re found, just as you so artfully described, Elsie. I’m so glad you found it, and the triscuits! Love this line: “all I feel is carpet and leather and frustration!” It says it all.

  13. I tortured my way through your slice Elsie, walking in your shoes. A month ago I was working at a new school and I didn’t have my phone. I figured out how I could pass up a lunch break to race home to make sure I had it and keep it with me.
    We are insane!
    Bonnie

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.