Which Day?

Do you know my favorite day of the week?

It could be Friday. I especially love Friday evenings. The feeling that time stands still. The work week is over and the weekend stretches ahead of me. Ahhhhh . . . but no, it’s not Friday.

It could be Saturday. No alarm clocks going off, I can roll over and sleep a bit longer. The day is mine to mold and shape. I might not even have to cook dinner, but nope it’s not Saturday either.

You, yes, you who are reading this should be able to guess my favorite day. You are a part of this day. You make this day because you read my words. You make comments that make me smile and allow me to be a writer for a day. Clicking on Check Mail, every chance I get. Is there a new message that says “comment-reply@word. . .”? Oh goody, there are two! Check again, there’s another, and the cycle continues all day long. Days later another comment may appear and my heart races again to find out what someone thinks. When I am in schools working, I can only check during lunch and it is the first thing I do as I walk to the car leaving school.

I get to peek inside your life and mind by reading your words. I love learning about what is happening in your part of the world and I do mean around the world. That is amazing to think we can be connected across oceans, mountains, and the great plains. I miss your voice when it is silent. I know that you might need a break, but just know that there is someone out here in the cyber-world wondering what you are up to and why didn’t you share today?

So by now you know that my favorite day is  . . . drum roll . . . TUESDAYS! I never dreamed that this would become a constant in my life. Even when I don’t have anything to say, I say something and you talk to me. Thank you for all your comments and letting me view your life at least once a week.

See you next week?

10 thoughts on “Which Day?

  1. This slice holds all there is to be true and wonderful about the SOL community. It felt like you were talking directly to me–and you were (the same way you were speaking directly to Linda and Deb and Jee Young and Michelle and Terje and on and on and on). I look forward to Tuesdays each week too! And March, a month of Tuesdays, will be here before we know it! So glad to connect with you each week, Elsie!

  2. jee young says:

    I love this post! I can totally relate to you! I think one of the best parts of the slice of life community is that we actually do leave comments for each other! I am totally excited when I receive comments as well. What an important reminder for us that our writing is so much more meaningful and powerful when we have an actual audience! Thanks for sharing this slice. And yes there are several Costcos in Seoul, which I’m soo thankful for. Have a happy thanksgiving!

    Jee Young

  3. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    Oh, wow. I just love this! Your conversation is easy, like I’m sitting across the table from you, listening to you go on and on about this community of writers. Who they are and what’s going on in their lives and the learning, the crafting, the comments. I’m shaking my head, understanding every word. Believing and knowing everything you say is also true for me: “You allow me to be a writer for a day.” “I miss your voice when it is silent.” “I know that you might need a break . . . ”

    See you next week? Of course, Elsie! I’ll see you next week. Thanks for the smile today.

  4. Thanks for inspiring me to go get some words down. i was going to skip today, but I didn’t really want to! There is always something to say. Thank you.

  5. As Linda put it (as only Linda can) there is something special about this day for the writer in all of us. Thank you for posting, reading and commenting, Elsie! Happy Thanksgiving!!

  6. I think I may have to print this to put at my computer. It’s exactly how I feel. I start thinking about how I can arrange my Tuesdays so I can read everyone’s words and take time to comment. I do check when I can, & then as you said occasionally there is a surprise a few days later. I appreciate your words every time, Elsie. Happy Thanksgiving, and happy Tuesdays!

  7. Haha, I love your description of the giddy ritual of checking email every minute to see if a new comment has arrived! I’m glad I’m not the only crazy person who does that! Like you, I’m grateful for this wonderful community and all the knowledge and emotions that are shared in it! Thank you for always leaving me such thoughtful comments on my blog! You and others keep me encouraged — with writing and teaching and everything else!

  8. grade4wizard says:

    Thank you so much for this post. Knowing that you are there sharing your life and caring about others matters a lot in this community. Your words matter.
    See you next week,
    Terje

  9. Absolutely perfect! This is my favorite day too. I love checking in to see who has been by for a visit. I love to find new slicers to follow. Thanks for sharing this–good to know I am not alone!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.