New Life

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

There they laid, softening, freckled with age spots. They had reached the point of no return. No one would want them in this state of moldering. A hand reached out to snatch them from the counter and deposit them into the trash. But the magic word . . .  muffin sent that hand into retreat.

Bananas past their prime wait patiently to learn their fate.

Bananas past their prime wait patiently to learn their fate.

The cookbook is opened to a curdled page. No longer is the page slick and shiny, but instead gritty from flour or other items that have fallen on it in the past. No longer does it lie flat, but instead ripples of paper rise up to meet the hand who tries to smooth it down. Here is the tried and true formula for aging bananas.

This page has been used often.

This page has been used often.

Stir together dry ingredients, make a well for the wet ingredients, mix. A short time later the oven delivers a delightful morning treat.

IMG_1659

Not everything that ages needs to be tossed aside. Yum!

 

17 thoughts on “New Life

  1. Joyce says:

    I feel there is something sacred about a well used cookbook…..and even more so when someone has taken the time to make comments in the margins. You have motivated me to copy that recipe and bake banana muffins.

  2. litcoachdanak says:

    Elsie! I have missed your writing! It is always so beautiful! I have not “sliced” since the March challenge ended! I was never more creative! Miss it all! Tomorrow is Tuesday, isn’t it? Hmmm….

    Dana 🙂

  3. Tam says:

    Like your last line…”Not everything that ages needs to be tossed aside.” Ah, yes, the ripening of bananas. I took to freezing them but decided that still is a lot of banana bread!!! I only buy enough to eat–probably 3 at a time. Where is this blog going to take you next, Elsie? I mean not only in subject matter but professionally?

  4. I am the queen of using leftovers, so this post touched my heart. I thought I was the only one left on the planet who labors over chicken bones and decaying fruit. Guess not! Loved the picture of the cookbook page. I wrote a post about my old NY Times not to long ago on this site that you might enjoy. Please pass me a muffin…..!

  5. I love, love, love the section about your cookbook page. There is something practically holy about a well-loved page, covered with remnants of past baking and, in my case, with scribbled suggestions and comments in the margins. Cookbooks are a living document in my world and yours sounds like it would fit right in at my house. Now I’m thinking about how much fun it would be to write more about this! Thanks for the inspiration and for a great slice!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.