Mystery Solved

Standing at the open refrigerator, I am sliding containers left, then right. I take containers out, I put them back in. I search the drawers. My husband inquires, “What are you looking for?”

“I have a container of chopped onions from the spinach salad the other night. I want to use them up before we leave.” I tell him. “But I’m not having any luck finding them. I wonder what happened  to them. I could swear I put them in here.”

No onions to be found. I shrug, but still wonder where they could be.  A mystery, but not worth worrying over a missing container of onions.

Four weeks later

We have just finished dinner. My husband looks over to the refrigerator. “What’s on top of the fridge?” he asks me.

“I have no idea,” I reply, glancing over to the fridge, but seeing nothing.

He reaches up and finds a small Gladware container. Something chopped is inside. Quickly I realize this is the container of missing onions. Immediately they are dumped into the garbage disposal.

As the remnants are ground away, we are left wondering how did they end up on top of the refrigerator?

18 thoughts on “Mystery Solved

  1. I was so worried you were going to say you opened the container to check to see what it was. 🙂 I was cringing the moment and thankfully you took the smart way and just chucked it all! I do that too and feel guilty when I do. Loved how you built anticipation in your slice. So much fun to read!

  2. Been there, done that. I’ve never left anything on top of the fridge but I’ve done things equally bizarre. I think sometimes these are the universe telling us “we are not in charge” or ” too much multitasking going on….”

  3. It has been awhile since I have visited you, and I have missed reading your stories. If this were my house, I can guarantee I would have been the one who put the onions on top of the refrigerator and forgot – I misplace things all the time. I am also surprised you hadn’t smelled them before you found them! Three weeks until All Write – I cannot wait!

  4. Ha! I once couldn’t find the English muffins that were in the freezer. I was certain about that. When I finally found them in the cupboard behind some other things, they were green!

  5. So, so funny, Elsie! I’m surprised you couldn’t smell the onions sooner. I had a similar experience tonight. We couldn’t seem to find our bottle of BBQ sauce that we used Sunday night. I tore the refrigerator apart looking for it, but found nothing. I can’t wait to see where it shows up!

  6. rosecappelli says:

    Love the way your dialogue takes me right there! This slice made me laugh since I have been there, too!

  7. I can identify with this…It’s worse when you actually have a picture in your mind of yourself putting the thing in the fridge (or wherever) and then discover it somewhere else, and try to make yourself remember putting it there…

  8. Terje says:

    Ha. Good you found the onions when you were still able to identify the contents of the bag. Imagine if the science experiment had lasted longer.

  9. Good, I am not the only one who is visited by unseeables who move things on me and put them where I can’t find them. I know they are just trying to break me. It will not happen! They will not get to me. Sorry, got carried away.

  10. Judy C. says:

    It’s amazing how those gremlins hide things and put them in unsuspecting places. So glad that you found them before leaving.

  11. Last summer, we were living with my parents while we waited for our new house to be ready. My mom “lost” an entire watermelon! We searched all of the bags and the trunk of the car, to no avail. We figured it was left at the checkout counter. My mom left for a week away in the mountains and when she returned, the watermelon was “found” in a puddle in the back seat. So. Gross.

  12. So funny! The refrigerator is one of those places that just swallow up things in my house (or is it my kids). I’ll look and look and can’t find something right in front of me. And then there are those times when you swear you put it away… Great slice!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.