Two Views, Inside/Outside

Happenings from the Inside:

“Oh my gosh!” my husband exclaimed as he was passing through our living room while looking out onto the patio. There was a tone to that exclamation that made me aware something was seriously amiss on the patio.

Quickly I put aside the iPad to arrive at the patio door the same time as my husband. Looking out the door, I could not see an issue. The furniture was in place, there was no wildlife lounging on our cushions.

Step outside on the stoop, there was a different story.

IMG_1091 (1)

A quick scan of the yard did not reveal the culprit. The birds were chattering extra loudly. I think they were trying to tell us who had been digging in our flower pot. We suspect it was a squirrel who has discovered our backyard. We will be watching!

Happenings from the Outside

Oh, what a gorgeous morning! Last night’s rain has made the world sparkly. It’s time for me to head out and explore. I need to check my latest find. There is a yard that is a veritable playground. So many trees to scamper up and down. I could spend all day exploring, but I don’t have that kind of time for play.

I have serious work ahead of me. I need to dig some holes and bury my nuts. I can’t wait until fall to do this work. A squirrel’s work is never done. There are always more nuts to bury for future meals.

I must admit, this new yard is a wonderful playground, but they have recently filled all their beds with rock instead of mulch. Do you know how hard it is to dig a hole in gravel? Mulch is much easier on my paws. Check out my work below.

IMG_1094

Pretty good hole right? Don’t judge, it’s not really a hole, but more of an indentation. I’m just getting started here. I just need a little more time and I will hit dirt, but it’s a start.

Now that I’ve arrived in the yard, I noticed there are a couple of pots with flowers. Hmmm, I don’t remember seeing them on my last visit. Surely they didn’t fill those with gravel. Yes! Soft sweet dirt! Perfect for my next nut! I’ll just dig my hole, it will be ready for the next nut I find. Oh how I love digging in dirt! I just love it when I find people who set planters out for me. Maybe next time I come, there will be even more planters. I’ll be watching!

Additional Note:

Recently on a walk around the neighborhood, my husband and I spotted a squirrel had been hit by a car on the road. I’m wondering if this was our squirrel. There may be no future squirrel tales. No one had disturbed the planter or created any more holes in the landscape rock.

 

 

21 thoughts on “Two Views, Inside/Outside

  1. On a related note, she has another book like the snow one that came out this year. If you haven’t seen Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt, then you should check that one out too!

  2. What a unique way to write a slice of life. I love the different points of view/perspectives. Your writing reminds me of Kate Messner’s Over and Under the Snow. Do you know that one?

  3. I really enjoyed your piece and the squirrels perspective. This reminded me of the “neighborhood” squirrels that roam the playground outside my classroom window. I actually had a student this year write as the squirrel about his playground life.

  4. Love how you played with point of view. Vegetable playground, work! What a great view of a squirrel’s life. This reminds me of a post Fran McVeigh did a while back on some wildlife. What fun this would be to do with students.

  5. Ha! Love the two views…and that sad ending. The first picture made me laugh – we have a squirrel who loves the planters on my porch. It’s a losing battle for me, but so far my furry friend is winning.

  6. Love this squirrel tale and the two points of view. While I hope the squirrel who met his demise was not your squirrel, you may hope otherwise! Keep us posted.

  7. So nice of you to take the other side, Elsie. Love hearing those two points of view! I can’t believe you may have only one squirrel. We have them everywhere, & yes, they bury things in my pots too. If you discover how to keep them out, let me know!

  8. Judy C. says:

    Great post – our squirrels do the same thing. Love the different perspectives. That darn squirrel doesn’t have time to play – just work, work, work! Maybe you should dig some holes for him!

  9. Elsie, this is great. I had a little giggle to myself as I was reading. We really do share our world with our natural fauna and flora and when we look at it from both sides it seems much less of a nuisance. Such a cute post. I am going to try this with my class. Thank you 🙂

  10. What a fun structure to read! I love reading from the squirrel’s point of view. He sounds like a squirrel with a bit of attitude. You created such a fun character, I hope that wasn’t him lying in the road. I hope there are more squirrel stories in the future. 🙂

  11. This is an excellent mentor text to use with students as an example of two different points of view. I think kids would really have fun with this. Here in the northeast (Long Island) we are plagued with squirrels. I have really come to dislike them because they can be so destructive in a garden.

  12. I’m wandering how the squirrels who scamper across our back yard fence would describe the danger lurking below. Any squirrels that tumble into the yard don’t stand a chance. Puck and Snug tag-team them until….

    You get the idea!

  13. We have squirrels that like to climb the trees and play in our yard. they are fun to watch. The bad part is that we live across the road from the park so they are always crossing the busy highway. Unfortunately, some don’t always make it. One mystery we have is that when I plant bulbs in the Fall I never know what will bloom in the Spring since the bulbs seem to make good food for something.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

