Evolution of Spring

I hesitate to revisit the topic of spring since every time I think spring is here to stay the temperatures plunge. Spring seems to be playing hide and seek this year. Just when it seems safe to bring out the capri pants, I find myself reaching for the turtleneck sweater to ward off the chill. However, we have had a few warm days where I’ve been able to pedal down the road. As I pedal, my mind wanders as I take note of the landscape.

I’ve been thinking about the book Twelve Kinds of Ice by Ellen Obed. I love how seamlessly she wove the story relating it to the various types of ice. I wondered if there was something I could write like that. That’s when I woke up to the changing scenery. So here is my version of Eighteen Kinds of Blooms.

The world of nature sleeps during the winter, gathering its energy to make a statement when spring returns. Slowly the ground thaws to allow the crocus and grape hyacinth to peek through the khaki colored grass. They are the first bits of color to whet the appetite for the color that is about to come.

As they fade away the tulip tree (not sure what this tree is, click here) begins the parade for all flowering trees. Too often this tree is bitten by cold temperatures and never gets to show-off for all who pass by. While eyes are looking up, they look down too. Hyacinths are spears of fragrant color. Daffodils bob in the wind.  Then the forsythia breaks out in a mass of sunshine on a branch, mounds of yellow dot the land.

Bradford pear trees burst into bloom, but their flower fades quickly as the leaves are anxious to appear. Now when I look down, tulips appear to replace the daffodils. The phlox is warming up as it overflows the beds spreading the carpet of purple. That same orchid color becomes

crabtree

aredbud tree cloud of color in the woods as redbud trees pop up in surprising places. Fruit trees, flowering crab trees,
and sand cherry trees compete for attention in the air. Back to the ground, minuscule wildflowers dot the yards with dainty blooms. All too often there is that pushy weed, the dandelion, trying to take over the entire yard.

yard

Slowly the dogwood tree begins to open up.

maple

When viewed from a distance, the blossoms appear to be suspended snowflakes among the slowly leafing trees. The new leaves timidly begin the opening process,

every shade of green can be seen. Although when you look closely not all new leaves are green. There are shades of red and rust too.

Lilacs have begun to bloom. Every day as I ride a few more buds have opened up to allow me to inhale their fragrance as I pedal past. Peonies and irises sprout. They won’t be blooming yet, but they hold the promise of color to come. Soon the bedding plants will appear in yards and trees will be  fully leafed out. Even though spring has been slow to evolve, it is always a joy to watch the procession of color appear.

Update on our new neighbors: two have hatched as of Sunday.

Update on our new neighbors: two have hatched as of Sunday.

14 thoughts on “Evolution of Spring

  1. Elsie, thanks for sharing your observations and pictures with us. I loved all of it, but most of all, the pic of your new neighbors. I love the procession of colors in the springtime. It’s makes me happy that each blossom has a separate time to shine. My favorite line: “Then the forsythia breaks out in a mass of sunshine on a branch, mounds of yellow dot the land.”

  2. You are my favorite nature reporter and yes, here in Finland, spring is still holding back, but what’s very frustrating is the moments of sunshine. Makes me crazy…Love your words and images once again.

  3. I loved how you referred to spring as playing hide and seek this year. When you talked about capris and turtlenecks, it made me think of turning on the heat one day and the next day needing the A/C. I liked how you italicized the different plants and flowers to draw attention to them and overall, I had a peaceful image in my mind of you enjoying the outdoors and observing nature. Enjoy the rest of spring!

  4. How glorious to go down this parade path with you. Your attention to detail makes the journey delightful. Yes Spring certainly has been playing hide and seek in your neighborhood. The rest of the week is going to feel like Summer here. Iiiiyiiiii….weather?!?

  5. Wonderful slice – spring is making it’s way in spite of the ups and downs of the temps. Spring is my favorite season with the awakening of all the trees, bushes, flowers and birds. I’m still waiting for ours to hatch.

  6. I love Twelve Kinds of Ice! Was just thinking about purchasing copies of it for our fifth grade teachers as I think it’s such a great mentor texts. Love what you did with it with flowers! And, welcome to your neighbors! Let’s hear it for spring.

  7. Tam says:

    Bravo, bravo, Elsie. What a walk with you! You’ve described this spring so well–“gathering energy,” peeking through the khaki-colored grass,” leaves being anxious, “phlox warming up and overflowing, “new leaves timidly begin, “slow to evolve,” “promise of color to come.” The fragrances are being inhaled every day for me, too. I think after last year’s drought, this is a true and welcomed spring. Rain has healed us. Beautiful piece.

  8. Beautifully done, Elsie! I love Twelve Kinds of Ice-just thought the author, as you said, had such a marvelously unique idea. I see that you’ve followed her lead with the flowers. I wish that I was seeing such beauty, but so far our weather has held things back very late this year. Thanks for the photos, too!

  9. Yes, it does seem that spring took its time this year…or was playing with us. I love how you said the leaves were anxious to come out. Your words gave me a ‘little’ hope that my tulips will survive the deer…but I think that is a lost hope. Love the pictures…and love your descriptions of spring. Now…get out your capri pants!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.