I Knew It Was Spring . . .

Check out more slices at Two Writing Teachers

Check out more slices at Two Writing Teachers

I knew spring finally arrived when my husband announced, “It’s shopping time again.” No, he was not telling me to head out to the nearest mall and find the latest styles for my wardrobe. He was referring to the birds who come to my small bicycle planter.  It seems that coco liners are just what the birds need to create that special touch in the nest.

For about two weeks the birds land on the rim, take stock of what they see, then they begin the process of dismantling the dirt filled liner. Robins are the greediest, but wrens have been spotted pulling out their fair share. They peck, pull, pluck until their beak is full. Off they fly to construct their nests. Moments later someone else is back on the rim gathering another beakful.

I suppose the building time has passed, as no one has been to the planter for a few days. I know they will return as soon as we put in the new liner and dirt.

The following robin pictures were taken from inside the house with the lens zoomed to catch the shoppers in action.

Easy picking or should I say easy pecking for the nest.

Easy picking or should I say easy pecking for the nest.

She checks out the possibilities with a critical eye.

She checks out the possibilities with a critical eye.

Do you think you could get another strand in that beak?

Do you think you could get another strand in that beak?

The current condition of the bike planter.

The current condition of the bike planter.

See the gap in the tree? A wren found a new home.

See the gap in the tree? A wren found a new home.

Soon we will have new neighbors on the side of our house.

Soon we will have new neighbors on the side of our house.

I knew spring would finally arrive. I just had to be patient.

20 thoughts on “I Knew It Was Spring . . .

  1. Joyce says:

    So very exciting to have your shoppers return. Do you think they are return shoppers? The shots w/ long lens really show off the birds determination.

  2. shaggerspicchu says:

    I love that you included so many beautiful photos in your beautifully written post. I miss living in a place where I can have a yard and admire the beautiful creatures exploring in the back yard. Unfortunately, I haven’t had any creatures visit me on my 51st floor balcony yet. I am glad you are enjoying your creatures and thanks for sharing!

  3. Elsie,
    These pictures are amazing! I have a few of these liners in baskets from last year, but I haven’t noticed the birds in them. I guess I need to be a bit more observant.

    Cathy

  4. Love this! Welcome, Spring!! We in MN are not so lucky, as the snow still sits, with a forecast of a bit more tonight, and the poor robins, with their insanely swollen bellies sitting in bare trees wondering what the heck has happened!? Hopefully, with a bit more patience, spring will show up here at some point, too! You captured the birds well to compliment your writing, which, of course you know, I love! 🙂

  5. Love the photos, Elsie! So lovely to see with our snow on the ground. The eggs are gorgeous aren’t theyI keep thinking I’ll choose some new bird feeder things for my new yard, & then it snows again! Soon! I do put out dryer lent for the birds, so am helping a little! Thank you!

  6. I love the photos that you have taken here, Elsie! I’m glad that someone is acting as if is spring, as I was ready to reach for my winter coat today in CT. I love the snippets that you give about your husband as well, in this piece–love that he shops and takes care of the birds!

  7. Love that second photograph…this robin knows what he’s all about! I see green lawns and some blooms in your photographs, too…Spring is definitely on it’s way!

  8. Keep those pictures coming! Our robins are still wearing winter coats! It seems like spring will never really arrive here in Iowa, so at least I can enjoy it vicariously through you.

  9. It is so wonderous to see nature in action. The idea that birds go shopping for their home supplies is delightful. It opens up so many ideas in my imagination. These photographs offer real evidence of Spring! Hurrah for the belated arrival.

  10. Lynn says:

    Wow Elsie…you have the best nature pics and blogs! I’m hoping you are right that spring is finally here…promise?? 😉

  11. Judy C. says:

    Aren’t these birds just so industrious? Your pictures and captions tell the whole story. Now to wait patiently for the little ones to come. And, yes, I think spring has arrived!

  12. Tam says:

    What a delight to look at these photos this morning. I think spring is finally here and moving. Can’t wait until we see the new hatchlings.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

