Helping Myself

Read more slice of life stories at Two Writing Teacher’s blog.

I’ve been cruising around, looking for some new bedding.

I’ve spotted something that looks like it will be perfect.

The color will blend in with everything I’ve found.

It looks like someone has been here before me.

Is anyone watching?

I need just a few sprigs, surely no one will mind if I help myself.

This shop has the best stuff.

I must remember to come back next year.

The above was from earlier this spring. The matting has been replaced this year. Check out how nicely the matting fits in, but trouble is looming. A shopper has come to pad her nest.

In fact many have been shopping. Check out the current state of the matting now. I guess we will be replacing mats every year. It’s a small price to pay for the smiles these silly birds bring.

17 thoughts on “Helping Myself

  1. b says:

    I love your spin on shopping :). By reading the title on the slice roster, I was expecting something completely different but what you shared was much more of a treat than a receipt run-down. So creative, Elsie!

  2. I love the voice of the bird. The idea of a bird shopping is sweet and true I suppose. It’s nice to think that baby birds will be warmed and swaddled in that bedding.

  3. Judy C. says:

    Wonderful slice – love your description that goes along with the pics. Those birds must be in seventh heaven and I’m sure they will return bringing many of their friends.

  4. Terje says:

    The smiles these silly birds bring – not just to you, but for your readers too. Lovely slice. I like that it was off school topic.

  5. Tam says:

    I read your post without the pictures at first. Then I realized I absolutely had to get to those pictures–changed my whole concept. Lucky birds.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.