Unchartered Territory

 

Brand new 4 years ago

I never thought it would happen to me, but it did, and I don’t know if it will ever happen again. My car turned 100,000 miles!

You have to understand, my husband used to trade cars in to avoid buying tires. When an odometer started to creep up to 45,000, he would start the process of looking for another car. That car would definately be gone by 60,000 miles.  We have had so many different cars I couldn’t begin to remember half of them.

Something changed with the purchase of this car. I’m not quite sure what it was but we have crossed over into unchartered territory. Hopefully this car will continue to perform for many more miles.

It's for real!

10 thoughts on “Unchartered Territory

  1. My first totally-brand-new-car that I bought 12 years ago died this summer with 246,000 miles on it. I bought a second hand car – so I understand the reference to milestones!

  2. Michelle says:

    That’s great! My husband thinks the same way about cars and tires too. We’ve never had a car longer than 4 or 5 years! What I’m truly amazed at is that you were able to take a picture of the odometer with exactly 100,000 miles!!! Cool!

  3. Okay, that is a cool car! Seems like it would be pretty fun to drive. Your post made me laugh. I think the only car I ever had that had that many miles was the rusty Vega I drove in college.

  4. Phillip says:

    Ah, well, I’m no doctor, but, I’d say, the midlife crisis that prompted this car isn’t quite over yet.

  5. We had that same experience with our “dustbuster” Pontiac Transport van. We kept that for 10 years and drove it from Maine to Florida a couple of times. We ended up giving it to a teacher friend who needed a car and she continued to drive it for years after that. It may be still running for all I know.
    But we were the same way: every two years, never over 60,000 miles. My husband would get itchy for the next vehicle!
    Your car though is much cuter than our van! I hope you celebrated with the car when it turned 100,000. It deserves a nice card at least, or some hi-octane!

  6. Elizabeth G. says:

    You are so cute!my husband tends to be the same way with cars. You must have a keeper in this one. Hope it continues to run smoothly and bring you gentle breeze filled rides.

  7. Sometimes you just fall in love, whatever it might be, a car, a dog, even a restaurant, that you can’t give up. It’s spring, so how do you give that up now? Looks like a winning automobile.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.