Day 25: Celebrate Health

 

The medical field amazes me! I am astounded by the advances made in just my lifetime against diseases, specifically cancer. It is a word that strikes fear just typing it. I don’t have a lot of cancer in my family background, but just enough to make me follow through with procedures, mostly uncomfortable, but are proven to be life saving.

This week I endured the preparation for a colonoscopy. Ugh! I’m so glad not to have this looming in my life for another ten years.

Prior to the procedure, the nurse wanted to list all my medications on the computer. I told her. She looked back at me and said with an incredulous tone to her voice, “That’s it? That’s all you take?”

I assured her I only take the one medication. Her response, “That’s really unusual! You are so lucky.”

Yes, I am lucky, I have good health (most of the time). Thank you ancestors for passing on those healthy genes to this generation. I only hope the future generations will be blessed with excellent health.

19 thoughts on “Day 25: Celebrate Health

  1. I’m reminded of this Bette Midler line from Beaches — “Got no diamonds, got no wealth.
    I got no man, but I got my health.”
    I’ve been down and out with a virus all weekend, and it’s times like this that I find myself so grateful for my health. Cheers to good health!

  2. You are lucky! In so many ways – the genes, the meds, the good humored nurse… And that prep is awful, I know. I’ve had 2. I hope everything is alright with you and this test is just precautionary!

  3. lindabaie says:

    My son-in-law’s mother underwent cancer treatment all last year, and she is now cancer free. We are all so grateful for that blessing of good treatment. I agree that good health is something to celebrate. Good for you for taking care, Elsie.

  4. Good health is worth celebration! I am thankful every morning for my good health, and for a sound mind. As my friend in her 90s says when asked how she is — “I got up under my own power and am taking in sustenance.”

  5. Health is the most important thing we have. Without it nothing else matters. Glad you are enjoying good health. May you keep enjoying it for many years to come.

  6. Judy C. says:

    I, too, feel very blessed that I have good health and pray that will continue as I get older. We have a lot to celebrate!

  7. It isn’t until we lose our good health that we realize how precious it is. So glad you have some lucky genes and that you are taking the time to be grateful. A good reminder!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

