Day 23: Composted Yard

Right now you would not want to walk around a portion of our backyard. Right now it is not lush and green. Right now bagged compost rests on top of the grass. To be specific seventy-five bags (each weighing forty pounds) blankets the ground. Right now you may be wondering WHY?

That is not dirt, but compost.

Over time our trees and shrubs have grown and grown, just like we wanted them to grow. However, they are now blocking the sun for the grass to grow. The grass is sparse, no longer thick and luxurious to a bare foot.

The man who fertilizes our yard suggested covering the thin areas of the yard with compost. He assured us, grass will grow up through the compost. We did it last summer, and just as he predicted, the grass grew in thicker. So before the tree foliage unfurls, my husband set out to give the ground a head start on nutrients.

Twelve days later, with a little sun, a little rain, a little snow, a little more sun, voilà, lovely grass is peeking through!

15 thoughts on “Day 23: Composted Yard

  1. mandyrobek says:

    Such an interesting process and I’m so glad it works! Grass is important for spring and summer. I love how to capture your stories with photos. Do you do anything them besides share them here?

  2. Oooh, spring is coming, and green grass with it!! When I was walking today (still chilly – about 55 degrees), a guy was mowing the grass, and I had to slow down and inhale that sweet, sweet scent. And that’s a lot of compost! Ha.

  3. Thanks for the tip. we have thinning grass as well. I need to try this. I also have thinning hair, but I think I’ll pass on this treatment for that.

  4. Judy C. says:

    Lovely thoughts of spring and getting grass to sprout where the sun doesn’t get to. Glad that this trick is working and you will have lush, plush, barefoot walking grass to enjoy.

  5. Thank you for including the before and after pictures. In my limited experience of growing things, compost has been magical. My favorite line is from the perspective of the barefoot (lol).

  6. With the right ingredients and nurturing, growth occurs – whether lovely grass or with people! I need help with my yard. Our dogs have worn out patches of it.

  7. lindabaie says:

    Seventy-five bags! Wow! There are many spots in our neighobrhood that are bare for that same “tree shade” reason. We’ve been told they’re using some special kind of seed that grows in shade, and it does work. I’m impressed by your pictures!

    • No seeds, just compost. None of the spots were totally bare, the grass was just really thin. I guess you could put seeds down first if it was bare.

  8. From bags of compost to lush and green. A lot of work involved here, but it’s worth the effort to have that soft green carpet underfoot in summer..

  9. Oh, Elsie! That sound like a wonderful idea! I needed it about four years ago when my backyard was a sea of mud. It has taken a lot of money and garden care by experts to finally get grass in our backyard. I enjoyed reading your piece and seeing the photos because, I think, green is Spring’s most favorite color!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

