Day 22: Booked It!

August is hot. August is humid. August is the start of school.

But, I’ve got a plan. I’m not staying home. Can you guess where I’m going? Here are a few hints:

  • “City of Lights”
  • Joan of Arc’s childhood home
  • Château de Chambord and Château Chenonceau
  • Place des Quinconces in Bordeaux
  • Garonne River to Cadillac

Did you guess? I’m heading to France with my husband. It will be a double celebration, our 40th anniversary and an early birthday celebration for me.

We are doing a pre-river cruise extension, four days in the Loire Valley. Then we will board a riverboat to explore the Bordeaux region on the Garonne and Dordogne Rivers. The cruise is named Châteaux, Rivers, and Wine, now that’s the way to finish off the summer.

Guess I need to lose some weight so I can find it in the pâtisseries we will visit at every turn of the rivers. I booked it and I can’t wait!

29 thoughts on “Day 22: Booked It!

  1. mandyrobek says:

    This sounds wonderful. What a fun way to spend August and do something different than school. I look forward to your sharing.

  2. Elsie, your trip is going to be fantastic! We have spent time in the Dordogne, in the Perigord Noir, including Sarlat, Montignac, Limoges, as well as in Bordeaux (love those little villages and all of the surrounding vineyards. Please do have some of my favorite wine from St. Emilion) and the Loire (Orleans, Blois, Amboise, Angers-I studied there, Saumur, and their chateaux. Also, Azay-le-Rideau (my personal fav), Chenenceau, (lovely) Chambord (the staircase!)), to name a few. You are going to have one great time on this trip!
    Don’t worry about losing any weight before going. French pastries are not ‘sweet’ like our sweets are, and are made from the finest ingredients as opposed to what we turn into flour…
    Quelle chance!

  3. lindabaie says:

    Oo la la, C’est magnifique! Hooray too for your firming it up. We have our beach house rented already & it is exciting to know about a future pleasure!

  4. How wonderful! I know you will have a marvelous time and have lots of stories to share when you return. As far as clothes go, you can always buy new ones. 🙂

  5. Wow! Good for you! It sounds wonderful. We also “booked it” in January and will be going back to Bermuda in August! It’ll be our third trip there, this time to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary!

  6. Joyce says:

    I can see the shine of your smile…..what fun! More stories for you to share. Do you see the shine from my smile????❣

  7. I am sooooooooo jealous! Congratulations! I am a francophile, so this trip would be a dream come true for me. If you love it (and how could you not), perhaps I’ll get the details from you and book the same tour. A former (long ago) French boyfriend told me he thought the Dordogne to be the most beautiful part of France. The pastries and wine won’t be bad either!

    • I think I am in the front of the jealousy line. It has been ages since I was in the Dordogne, or anywhere that doesn’t involve spending time with family. That former boyfriend from long ago., he was on to something- It is lovely in the Dordogne…Sarlat, Lascaux, foie gras, chateaux, what’s not to find lovely, and delicious?

  8. Leigh Anne says:

    What a way to cap off the summer and celebrate an anniversary and birthday! Can’t wait to see the pictures.

  9. Judy C. says:

    What a great way to celebrate a special anniversary and your birthday! Looking forward to seeing and hearing about your adventure. I’ve seen this cruise advertised and haven’t convinced hubby that’s one we should go on. Maybe after I show him your pics, he’ll change his mind.

  10. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    Another adventure! You are both world travelers … I am not, so I love living through your words and pictures!

  11. As AKR might point out – serendipity! Last night Allan and I finished booking our August trip to celebrate our 40th anniversary, but we’re going to London and Ireland. We will have to get together and share stories from our adventures!

  12. Elsie, what a trip! I am excited for you! I know you will be writing about your excursions, so I am going to look for your observations and anecdotes on this blog! A great way to celebrate your 40th! We have not yet traveled to France, but we hope to do it one day soon. If you continue to travel, put Portugal on your list – it was delightful, a totally unexpected surprise!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

