Day 21: Wait, Wait, Wait

Yesterday’s appointment was set for 8:20, which required me to get up at 4:00 to complete drinking the jug of liquid. Thank goodness I had consumed more than half the night before! Needless to say, it did its job.

The voice,who set the appointment, said no need to get there early because it won’t do you any good. I walked into the office at 8:18, got my bracelet and took a seat. We sat and sat and sat. No one was going in or coming out of the procedure area. Lots of people were filling in the waiting area. I watched a couple of episodes of Flip or Flop.

Finally they call me to the back! 🙂 Let’s get this over! I change into their lovely cotton gown, answer various questions (do you have any metal in your body?, have you fallen in the last three weeks?, when was your last solid food?), and the nurse takes my vitals. Then she plans to insert the needle for the IV. She is not confident in her skill with my small veins. She calls in the vein whisperer to insert the needle. After lots of tapping and tightening the arm band, she slips the needle in with minimal pain.

Nurse 1 tells us someone will be there to roll me back to the room and I will sign the papers with the doctor. We wait, and wait, and wait. From my view I see very little movement going in or out of the other rooms. No one comes to my corner of the room. We wait, and wait, and wait. Finally the doctor appears and I sign the papers giving my consent.

I’m wheeled to the back, introduced to the staff (who I hope never to run into again). I hear the doctor mention he is an hour off his schedule. (No kidding, I thought.) Then it’s lights out for me.

I’m told the report is good, I don’t think I was awake yet when the doctor came back by my area. I get a fig bar and cup of apple juice. Time to get dressed and be released. I’m wheeled out to the sunshine where my car is waiting for me. The nurse reminds me, no cooking today. That brings a smile to my face.

After a quick lunch, we head home and I welcome a nap. I’m thankful the procedure is over and the doctor said my favorite words, “See you in ten years.”

 

27 thoughts on “Day 21: Wait, Wait, Wait

  1. lindabaie says:

    Hurrah that it’s done, and that you had good news. Sorry for the wait. You had an early appointment, so don’t you wonder why? If it’s the doctor is late, sad for the staff. anyway, enjoy the lovely eating the rest of the week!

  2. mandyrobek says:

    Yahoo! I’m so glad you got great news and I thought the words vein whisperer were put together well for your message about today.

  3. So glad you got a clean bill of health. Maybe you can drag the “no cooking” out for a few days? Waiting to have this procedure done is bad enough. Adding wait time to it because the doctor is behind schedule is nerve wracking, in my opinion. They could have at least given you something silky or satiny to wear instead of cotton because you had to wait.

  4. Yep, I did that, and I don’t know that they’re going to see me in ten years. I might take my chances. Sigh. Just kidding, but your post doesn’t make me any happier about the span of ten years looming closer.

  5. These procedures, while necessary, do present us with challenges Elsie. It is rare when things in the world of medicine run according to the scheduled time. Glad to hear of your good news though. Tick!.

  6. Lucky you! I had two failed attempts with two different people before they called in the vein whisperer. Happy you got that wonderful five word benediction, “See you in ten years.” And hey, they didn’t tell me that I didn’t have to cook that day! I’m coming to your place next time.

  7. A really great description of this event, Elsie. I am so glad you received good news. It seems like it’s always a 40 minute to an hour or longer wait in the doctor’s office. The dentist seems to be a little better. I should schedule this procedure – my husband, too. It’s been eleven years. Ughhhhh! I need to do it. Thanks for the gentle nudge!

  8. I am happy to learn that your results were good. I was having deja vu throughout reading your post since I just had my “event” about a month ago. I, too, require a “vein whisperer.” (Love that term!) Unfortunately for me, I am a polyp producer…had 15 polyps removed this time. So I am doomed to return in three years. Ugh!

  9. Judy C. says:

    Glad your wait is over for the procedure and that all went smoothly and with a good outcome. Glad that you can now wait for another 10 years before having to deal with this again. Maybe by then they will come up with a much easier prep!

  10. So, was the FIG Newton really necessary after all that prep? 🙂
    I love this line, “She calls in the vein whisperer to insert the needle.” I’ve been told I have tough skin and fragile veins so I know the “vein whisperer” well, though never thought to name the nurse that!

    Congrats on the 10 year wait.

  11. I am not sure why it is such a big deal to throw off the clinic/doctor’s schedule. We don’t have things to do?
    At any rate, won’t go there. So glad you have a 10 year wait!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

