Day 19: Liquids Only for Today

How did ten years speed by so fast? Medical procedures can be a pain in the butt. Sometimes it’s the actual procedure, but sometimes it’s the preparation for such procedure. All those who are fifty and older will recognize the preparation for my procedure.

  • Stop eating anything with seeds five days prior to your procedure.
  • Day before procedure liquid diet only.
  • Nothing red or purple can be consumed on the liquid day.
  • No dairy products allowed.
  • Prepare your gallon jug from the pharmacy in the morning and place in the refrigerator.
  • Begin drinking from this jug at 5:00 p.m.
  • Drink half of the jug in 6-8 ounce increments every 15 minutes.
  • Four hours before procedure, drink the rest of the jug, but must be finished two hours prior to appointment.

I have my blue jello ready (I asked if blue was okay). I have white peach grape juice chilling. Popsicles are in the freezer. Β Tea and chicken broth will be my main course of the day. Dessert will be cherry limeade sparkling water. I even have a choice of flavors for my evening jug, I think it will be cherry, minus the limeade. What a day of flavorful treats!

Tomorrow I will have to cash in my invitation to Leigh Anne Eck’s Favorite Things party. My appointment is 8:20 and I remember sleeping a lot after the procedure ten years ago. Hopefully I will return with a good report Wednesday.

Enjoy chewing your food today. πŸ™‚

 

24 thoughts on “Day 19: Liquids Only for Today

  1. mandyrobek says:

    I know this is important and your outlook and plan look great but I’m not looking forward to such procedure. I’ll think I’ll return to this for guidance.

  2. Just read through the comments. Looks like I have a lot of friends in the 5 year club. May the hours pass quickly! Grateful for this procedure since we lost our sweet Mama to colon cancer.

  3. It sounds as if you have a great plan — good for you for thinking ahead. I’ve been through this before, and definitely the prep is much worse than the actual test. Good luck! ~JudyK

  4. Colonoscopies are no fun – the prep or the procedure! Such an annoying time for sure. I hope it’s been a busy day with not much time to think about being hungry!

  5. tamtomatoe says:

    The procedures for this always change. It’s not as bad as it was years ago. I have to do this every 5 years due to family genetics. I love going out for lunch right afterwards! Thinking of you!

  6. Leigh Anne says:

    Thank you for reminding me that I am 53 years old and need to make that appointment! Hope you remain on the ten year plan and I can’t wait to read your favorites tomorrow!

  7. You must count your blessings – my 21 year old son is having one on Tuesday. Ugh. The prep is so much worse than the procedure. But thank goodness for this medical procedure! I know I am thankful. Oh, and I must have them every 5 years – again, lucky you! May it all be well in the end. (Sorry about that humor …)

  8. :You made getting a colonoscopy seem like a walk in the park. It’s one of the great democratizing experiences of our lives! We can all relate. I am one of the unfortunate few who now must have one every 3 years due to the fact that I am a polyp producer (my own name for it)! Ugh! Hope your results are good; I’m sure they will be.

  9. Elsie, I hope everything goes smoothly and all is well. It’s about that time for my husband and me. Such a life-saving, necessary procedure. You are in my thoughts. Best wishes for perfect health!

  10. Judy C. says:

    Oh, my friend, I do not envy you, but as with those yearly mammograms, this is a “must do”. Mine isn’t due for a couple of years and with the prep you’ve described, it will come way to soon. Praying all will be good and you’ll be enjoying some filling food.

  11. That sounds like a whole heck of a lotta fun…NOT! Sorry Elsie! Hoping the procedure and results go well. Think of a great meal you want to treat yourself to once you can eat again!!

  12. As soon as I started reading your post I knew what you were talking about! The prep is the worst, but it sounds like you have a great plan. I will think of you tomorrow morning – I have a procedure, too, at about the same time, but mine involves squashing sensitive parts of my body that are not really designed to be flattened like pancakes and holding my breath. Hope we both have good outcomes!

  13. Oh, I remember my last one of these well. Ugh, the saline solution. It didn’t matter to me that I couldn’t eat because I wasn’t hungry anyway! Best wishes for a clean slate!

  14. I know exactly how you feel. Hope all goes well and you are good for the next ten years. Enjoy your colors. I still have a few years to go before I rejoin this party.

  15. Ugh, this sounds less than ideal, but you are making the most of it. I hope your procedure goes well tomorrow and that your favorite things party is a blast! πŸ˜‰ Hang in there!

  16. You’re last line is perfect, “enjoy chewing your food today.” We take these small things for granted and it’s so hard when they are gone. At least it’s for a short time- hang in there today!

  17. Ugh. I can relate. I had my “First” experience in August at 43 years old, thanks to family history of Colon Cancer, early screenings for me. I am on the 5 year plan so I’m sure the next four 1/2 will fly by! lol. Try to Enjoy your jello and white grape juice and of course your dessert! (Love it!) I hope the day goes by fast and best of luck tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  18. margaretsmn says:

    I can so relate to this post. I had my first colonoscopy 5 years ago. I had to repeat it in 3 years. The second one didn’t go as well as the first. The prep was easier. I knew what I was in for, so I paced myself, and had chicken broth handy. It’s what worked for me for the nausea. The thing I didn’t expect was how sick I would be on the second day following the procedure. I went back to solids too quickly, I guess. You are lucky you got ten years. I hope you get another 10 with this one. I am now on the five year plan. Those years seem to go by fast.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

