Day 11: Small Celebrations

Saturday is a day to revisit the week and recall the celebrations that pop up each and every day.

My week was bookended by taking my mother to medical offices. On Monday an abscess was treated, then Friday was a long put-off appointment. The abscess is healing, but as the doctor said,”It will take a long while for the abscess to heal.” Now that doesn’t sound like much of a celebration, but the fact that I was able to be there for her is the celebration.

The in-between days were filled with coaching teachers through guided reading lessons, developing comprehension skills, and extending teachers’ thoughts about the role of talk within their literacy block.

An added bonus to the week was family from Phoenix arrived to spend a few days with us. It’s always a treat to have them visit.

Of course that means cooking needs to be ramped up a notch. Usually there is some special dessert, but this house is under a restricted dietary rule (self imposed). What to do? The answer is a healthy brownie. Healthy? How can that be? How about a brownie that does not contain eggs or flour, but it does have a can of black beans. If that sounds intriguing, check out Chocolate Covered Katie’s blog for the recipe. They are very fudgy and gooey, not cake-like. Quite tasty!

Today is a wintery mix for weather, so we will be cooking up a crock pot of chicken corn chowder. Wish you all could stop by for a bowl of soup and brownie for dessert. Happy Saturday!

25 thoughts on “Day 11: Small Celebrations

  1. Elsie, I had to search for that black-bean brownie recipe after you mentioned it. Thanks for the link to the recipe that sounded weird at first but I do love black beans so it will be one I will try.

  2. Sounds like some gluten free cooking there! I’ve been off chocolate (reflux imposed, she said angrily) or I’d be all over this! Esp the egg free part too! Yum. Onto your piece here, I love when your write how you “bookended” your week with your mother’s appointments. Such a finite way to put something. It’s pleasant in this context. I like it very much.

  3. What a great Saturday from start to finish. I like the time you set aside for reflection and appreciation. Then talk of food! I best those brownies are good and the soup, too!

  4. Lisa C says:

    Sounds yummy! I accidentally bought some black bean brownies at the farmer’s market this summer. My children have not forgiven me. πŸ™‚

  5. carwilc says:

    I’m doing WW right now, and dying for brownies, or anything chocolate. This morning at the meeting, they talked about how healthy and low point beans are!. And I love corn chowder!!! Wish I was close enough to stop over!

  6. I’m a bit skeptical about black bean brownies, but the chicken corn chowder sounds delightful. How about sharing that recipe? So wonderful to read your celebrations, big and small. Here’s to good health and fast healing for your mom.

  7. How nice that you celebrate time spent with your mom, even if it’s visits to doctors. She must be very grateful to have such a loving daughter. Also nice to read about your special food preparations for guests, despite your own restrictions. I really wish we lived closer to each other so I could stop by for that corn chowder and a brownie. I’m tired of cooking!

  8. maryannreilly says:

    Yours–sounds like such a loving, family. The week sure was eventful. I plan to checkout the brownie recipe. I have no wheat,corn, soy or dairy in my diet, due to allergies. Hope your mom is well soon.

  9. lindabaie says:

    I”m glad things are going well for your mom, Elsie, and that the week turned out good, visitors too. I love black beans, but in brownies-wow. It is interesting to see what cooks discover that works! Have a nice weekend with your guests.

  10. Love the way you celebrate the big and small things that happened during the week. Will check out that brownie recipe since we, too, are watching what we eat.

  11. Ok, Elsie. I have to admit the promise of a brownie recipe drew me in, but I really appreciate your simple gratitude in this post. Enjoy your weekend and your delicious treats!

  12. Judy C. says:

    What time? Wish we were just a little closer. I’ve seen this browny recipe, but have never tried it. Will have to give it a try soon. Have a great day.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

