Day 6, Eat the Rainbow

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

How can I resist when the snippet of email came through with this invitation –

yum

I have a love/hate relationship with cooking. I enjoy creating great tasting food. I like the challenge of trying something new. But, I get tired of figuring out what to eat every night for supper. So when something new comes along, I will give it a try.

I scanned their bouquet of recipes and found two that piqued my interest. (Why couldn’t I be happy with just one recipe?)

Rainbow Vegetable Spring Rolls – I love fresh spring rolls at the Thai restaurant we visit, but I have never made them before. Rice paper wrappers might be a challenge. Plus, they are to have a mango in them. I’ve never bought, let alone cut up a mango.

Thai Green Curry with Spring Vegetables – I do enjoy a Thai curry and especially one with a coconut milk sauce, another new challenge for me.

After printing out the recipes, I made my list of items I would need to create these dishes. I found most of the items needed at the grocery store, but not the rice paper wrappers. I needed to visit the Asian img_1287grocery store for them. When I walked in, I thought about asking someone where I would find the rice paper wrappers, but when I looked up, my problem was solved. Then I spent a little more time just looking around (I do love wandering a grocery store).

Here are the special ingredients needed that I didn’t have already in my kitchen.
img_1229

I began around 3:30 chopping, slicing, dicing. I wanted extra time to prep. The recipes give suggested prep time, but that’s never accurate for me. I must be slow at preparation.

First up, the Rainbow Vegetable Spring Rolls. I stirred together the dipping sauce in the recipe. Uh-oh, the recipe says sweet garlic chili sauce. My jar does not have that word sweet in it.img_1291 I googled the difference. Hmmm, seems like I don’t have the sweet, but it’s only 1/4 teaspoon, so I go ahead and use it. The prep was complete, I just needed to assemble them at the last minute.

Brown basamati rice needed to get cooking, it takes forty minutes plus another ten to sit. Then I tackled the curry sauce. Since I had everything chopped, it went together perfectly.

img_1290

img_1292Putting the spring rolls together were a little tricky, but with practice I think they will look better in the future.

Finally the moment of truth. Is this a bust (where the recipes will go to the trash) or epic (where the recipes will enter the cabinet where hundreds of other recipes reside)?

img_1293

It was totally . . . epic! Both recipes are a keeper! They were scooped up and sent to the cabinet to be used again and again. The only change I would make is not to make the spring roll sauce on the recipe (it was fine) but to go to our Thai restaurant and buy their peanut sauce for dipping.

If you have a hankering for some Thai, click on the links above. These two recipes will hit the spot and the bonus is they are vegan and vegetarian friendly. Bon appétit!

 

 

28 thoughts on “Day 6, Eat the Rainbow

  1. tamtomatoe says:

    Spring rolls are a treat for myself only. Your post makes a beginning or even a seasoned cook want to try something new. Great job, Elsie!

  2. “I wanted extra time to prep. The recipes give suggested prep time, but that’s never accurate for me. I must be slow at preparation.” That’s me to a T! Although I use say these cooks must have bigger kitchens than mine – blame them not me. Your statement is the truth though 😉 They came out so well! The pics did everything to do the complexity of the described recipes justice. Well done!

  3. It was so beautiful in the prep. that I started chanting “Epic, epic, epic” before I read the end! Well done! You have the special touch with veggies as Mike and I both know you are the Queen of Salads!!😊

  4. Terje says:

    I waited with anticipation to see how the dishes would turn out. Seeing the photos I figured they might be yummy. Glad that this was a successful culinary experiment.

  5. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    Love all the color, Elsie! I’m impressed … I wish I had the time, but not happening any time soon. Love your honest humor sprinkled throughout your post too — I’m with you! The prep time is NEVER accurate. We all must be a little slower. Plus I read and reread and read each step along the way whey I’m making a new recipe.

  6. Love the line about your recipes joining the hundreds that are in your collection. I have quite a few, too, and I keep meaning to organize them but it hasn’t happened yet. I may have to write about that in a slice!

  7. I am IMPRESSED! Both of those recipes sounded hard. I’ll be honest, the rice paper alone would have scared me off. But your pictures made them look scrumptious! I’m glad you find two “keepers”. I hate when I go to all that work and expense to discover I am in for a trip to Mc Donalds for dinner instead. 🙂

  8. Joyce says:

    What a win for you!!! Those recipes and your pictures certainly make me want to try the recipes. Your detail had my mouth watering. The store looked like a new shopping experience for me.

  9. Judy C. says:

    They look absolutely delicious – love the colors. Next time you need a taste tester, give us a call. We’ll be there in no time.

  10. I’m with you on the love/hate relationship with cooking. I live alone, so I usually cook Sunday night, then eat whatever I’ve made through the week. This looks fabulous! Maybe next Sunday….

  11. I love trying new recipes and these look delicious! Going to the Asian grocery store sounds like an adventure too. We have hosted foreign exchange students from several different countries which introduced us to their foods and their grocery stores. Each time a new student came, we’d research where we could find their particular ethnic store and then plan and cook a meal together. It was a great way for us to bond.

  12. These dishes look amazing! I love how you shared the entire process. I’m also someone who has a love/hate relationship with cooking, but your post has inspired me:)

  13. Oh my gosh! Those meals look amazing, and the pictures are gorgeous and appetizing! Now I want a rainbow spring roll, and it’s only 7 am!

    I, too, have a love/hate relationship with cooking…I love it, and I’m good at it, but I occasionally get sick of it because I cook ALL. THE. TIME. I tried Blue Apron last week and it was pretty fun! I got a good coupon and then canceled after a one-time trial because it was just too expensive, but that could be a fun option for you and might help you avoid the multiple grocery store runs. But hey, that’s part of the fun!! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing this slice!!

Thanks for taking time to comment.

