Day 3 “How Did I Not Know That?”

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

“What is your schedule like this week?” asked my 86 year old mother.

I filled her in on the next two weeks of my working schedule but added that I would be busy because I was writing and posting on my blog every day this month. I saw a look of confusion pass across her face.

“Mom, this is the seventh year I’ve done this. I’ve told you about it,” I responded.

“How did I not know that you’ve done this for six years?” she said shaking her head in disbelief.

“Since you don’t have a computer, it didn’t seem relevant. But I know I’ve told you about it.”

“Do any of your friends do this too?”

“Well, actually one person from work does it too. Through writing, I made friends and met some of the people who read my writing. Plus, I read their writing too. Remember Kim from California or Ruth? I knew them first from reading their writing. In fact, I have met quite a few blog friends.”

“What do you write about?”

“Ordinary things, small moments from my day. Like today I wrote a poem about things I see out my window when I sit at my desk.” I know she’s thinking, that doesn’t sound very interesting. I’m thinking I just found my slice for tomorrow.

As I get ready to leave, she is still musing over the fact that I could have been doing something for six years and she had no knowledge of it.

25 thoughts on “Day 3 “How Did I Not Know That?”

  1. carwilc says:

    My mom is 83. She does have an iPad which she has used for solitary for many years. Somehow she stumbled across my blog and now she reads it regularly. Now I have to be careful that I don’t post anything, either about myself, my job or my kids, I don’t want her to read.

  2. This is rich! I miss having these kinds of conversations with my grandfather for one, even though he was tech-crazy and basically stalked me, in the best way of course. It’s just funny talking to one another like this. I know you and you know me through the depth and simplicity of our lives shared in our writing, but we’ve never met. Only gone back and forth for years now. Anyone whose never opened up like that to a kindred spirit, online or otherwise, never seems to get it. My grandpa never did. He got me but not how we are a real community of distant friends through slicing. What to write about daily? That’s a daily game we mentally play. Great slice. I like as per usual!!!

  3. margaretsmn says:

    This is great. My mother occasionally reads my blog. She does look at Facebook, but she never talks about it with me. So maybe she isn’t reading it? Actually very few of my day to day friends read. That’s the way it is, I suppose. We have this other life, our blogging life. It enriches my life. Reading and connecting to others is special to me. I enjoyed this little fly on the wall experience.

  4. Leigh Anne says:

    The mind is such a fragile thing, and I am learning that with my grandma and my own mother. I hope you do share some of your writings with her – I am sure she would be quite proud!

  5. alwriting says:

    At 86 years of age, your Mum is still learning, making discoveries. She has provided you with an opportunity to share your rich repository of stories Elsie. Windows of opportunity have opened here. Great story. Real and authentic with a little magic thrown in.

  6. lindabaie says:

    I imagine that your mom knew you have been writing, but just forgot this time. When you write, it is a nice idea to share with her what you’ve captured. Or to create a book about the family times you’ve written about?

  7. Terje says:

    I enjoyed reading the dialogue. I appreciate that you shared it with us. I support the idea of giving a book of your slices to your mom.

  8. Such a cute post about your mom! Sometimes we tell our moms something, but they don’t remember. At least mine is that way. I agree with others…find a way to share your slices with her. I think she’d like that.

  9. tamtomatoe says:

    I never shared my writings with my mom. We had issues. We never really talked. I wrote her a poem the last year she was sick. I never gave it to her. Sad again. Yes, share with your mom in spite of everything. You can still give that part of yourself that might bring some wonder to your mom. Write on, Elsie!

  10. I think Arjeha has a wonderful idea. I’ve thought of doing that myself for members of my family. As my mother approached 80 (the year she died), she was having difficulty remembering anything. It was sad to watch her begin losing her attachment to this wicked and wonderful world. But in some ways I think it’s a necessary way to begin preparing for leaving this world. Or am I being too Buddhist here?

  11. Judy C. says:

    Maybe you need to print off some of your slices, I’m betting she would love to read what you’ve written and what others have commented. I’ve had this conversation with others (much younger) and they just look at me like “what are you talking about?”. I think Michelle has learned a lot about me over the years that she never knew.

  12. Joyce says:

    I can understand how your mother feels. I find myself smiling as I can relate to her confusion. I enjoy reading your blog and hearing you girls talk shop…..but still can be totally bewildered at the magnitude of your worlds.

  13. I like how you captured the conversation. This post made me laugh because I have had this very conversation with my mother for the last couple of years and I expect I’ll have it again in a few days.

  14. I think my siblings have learned more about me from reading my posts than I ever would have told them. My mother, who will turn 86 in April, doesn’t own a computer either. She just gets what my siblings tell her.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

