Dreaded Machine Part Deux

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Two weeks ago I had my annual mammogram. (read about it here) Two days after the mammogram I was contacted by the clinic to come back for additional films. The voice tells me there seemed to be a slight change. This needed to be investigated by taking additional views and magnification.

What am I to think? Should I worry, I ask the voice who has given me this news. The voice said not to worry, it might just be a natural change. I tell myself, don’t worry, but there is that niggling thought in the back of my mind, what if?

One week after the previous mammogram, I am facing the dreaded machine once again. This time the technician says the films will be sent immediately to the radiologist to read them and decide if more pictures need to be taken or if I’m good to go.

She takes three views. Each one squeezing a little harder than the previous. I return to the waiting area. About ten minutes later a new person appears. She surveys the ladies waiting before announcing that their computers are down. They cannot send the films to the radiologist. She is sooooo sorry, we might have to return for more views, but maybe not. They will call later in the afternoon or tomorrow morning with the results.

I leave. I wait. I wait all day. I wait another day. Finally, two days later an email shows up. There is nothing to be concerned about, this time. That brief moment of time between exams is enough to keep me vigilant and make the appointment every year.

13 thoughts on “Dreaded Machine Part Deux

  1. Michelle @litlearningzone says:

    The wait is the worst. We all worry. You just never know. I had to go in for a follow-up last year as well, but the results were “normal.” I just made my appointment for this year … it’s a week away and I am already feeling anxious. Breathe.

  2. lindabaie says:

    I’m glad for your news, Elsie, but it isn’t easy waiting I’m sure, and then their computers went down! Such a time. I return each year too, and am glad too, but there is anxiety that accompanies me. You are good to share so that others can see that good news can happen after waiting again.

  3. CT Scans, MRIs, Sonograms, Mammograms, Colonoscopies, Endoscopies…they’re all nerve-wracking and even more so when the technology doesn’t work as it should. We have come to expect everything to go smoothly, because so often it does. But these are just machines, and machines are not infallible and neither are the people who operate them. We tend to forget that. Sorry you had a bit of a scare. I just had my second CT Scan post cancer and it all turned out well. Nonetheless, part of me is still waiting for the other shoe to drop. But you are right; we are fortunate to have these tests which can in many cases detect a problem before it gets out of hand. Enjoy your cancer-free year!

  4. I had my own wait this year for results, but not from a mammogram. And the resulting good news eased my racing heart. So glad you received good news, but I’m sure those intervening days were not easy.

  5. Judy C. says:

    So happy to hear that it was not serious. I understand the concern and worry. I was called back a few years ago and had to have an ultrasound. Always a concern as my Mom died from breast cancer. We can be thankful that these dreaded machines can detect changes earlier than they use to.

  6. Scary. This happened to a friend of mine, too. the wait until she got to the second meeting was very stressful. I am glad to hear everything was fine. I bet you were relieved.

  7. mrsday75 says:

    Ugh. I hate those voices on the other end when they can’t really tell you anything. I always worry more than need be. Glad yours turned out fine.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

