A Fine Line?

Dinner decided. Checked for ingredients. One item needed, which required a trip to the grocery store.

In the car, seat belt on, engine started, ready to leave, but wait! Pocket empty, no cell phone! Quickly I remedy the situation. As I’m climbing back into the car, my husband says,” So you forgot your phone?”

My reply, “I remembered my phone. I had not left yet, so I didn’t forget it.”

“It’s all semantics,” was his response. Which got me wondering as I drove to the grocery store, which was it remembering or forgetting?

Dictionary.com’s third definition of forget says “to leave behind unintentionally; neglect to take:Β to forget one’s keys.” I would have to argue that I did not leave anything behind.

Their third definition of remember states “to have (something) come into the mind again:Β I just remembered that it’s your birthday today.” That is exactly what I did. When I noticed that my pocket was empty, the thought came to my mind that my phone was still in the house.Β 

I think dictionary.com has supported my theory. I didn’t forget, but remembered.

Side note: I could have left the phone at home, because received no calls, nor made any calls in the short time I was gone.

15 thoughts on “A Fine Line?

  1. mandyrobek says:

    I love how you thought through forgot and remember, that’s something I would do to understand and bring clarity to my thinking.

  2. It’s wonderful when we can make words work for us and back up our position. Of course you didn’t forget. You remembered where your phone was and then went to get it.

  3. Judy C. says:

    Hmmm.. Forgetting to remember or remembering to forget. We seem to be so attached to our techology that we can’t leave home without it.

  4. lindabaie says:

    Love your analysis of this event, thereby winning the “definition derby”, right? I will ‘remember’ your post, or is it “I will never forget” your post? Happy days! Just think we never had to do this in the past. It was only the keys!

  5. Women are from Venus, men are from Mars! Your post proves it. We speak a different language and no amount of “discussion” will change that. A very funny post for those of us (including me) who’ve been having a lifetime of these exchanges.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

