Dreaded Machine

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

Be sure to visit Two Writing Teachers for more slices of life.

With my steps slowing, I follow the technician into the darkened room. A monitor glows. The only source of light is an overhead spotlight. I step up and face the dreaded machine, willing my mind to take me somewhere else.

“Step forward a little. Turn your head. Lean to the left. Put  your arm here, bend your elbow. Shoulder down. Reach over here. Tilt your head back.”

As the machine squeezes, the final command, “Don’t breathe!”

A repeat performance on the right side.

A few moments of pain are required each year. These uncomfortable minutes could save my life. Thank goodness the yearly mammogram is over!

25 thoughts on “Dreaded Machine

  1. Because of a mammogram, they found something small in my sister. She has cancer. She had surgery and is starting treatments. Thankful they found it and are fighting it! God is our strength.

  2. Thank goodness is right! Aren’t they awful? I had one last year and the year before. It’s amazing how far technology has come since I had my first 10 years ago! They are able to determine what’s what in a matter of minutes now. It’s fascinating and very life saving! Proud of you for going, Elsie!

  3. mandyrobek says:

    As i was reading this piece, I kept thinking, is she talking about a mammogram machine? I was so glad the ending shared a positive ending – you are healthy.

  4. lindabaie says:

    You showed it well, Elsie. I’m glad it’s over for you, too. It is a blessing, though. I like where I go. They have pink bathrobes, little snacks and comfy sofas while we wait. They help make it bearable.

  5. Not my favorite either, I tend to call it the squishem, squashem, squeezeemprocedure. I can think of a couple that I dislike even more. But like you, the inconvenience is worth the mind being at ease.

  6. I flinched at the final command. Alays hate the breast sandwich, but I go faithfully every 2 years. We have the ” Ontario Breast Screening Program (OBSP) -a province-wide, organized breast screening program ” and I am contacted every 2 years to make an appt.

  7. It took me a bit to figure out what dreaded machine you were referring to . . . but that second paragraph of imperative directions nailed it for me. One of life’s little necessary evils.

  8. I found myself on the edge of my seat, wondering which machine you were dreading. Was it an MRI? an X-ray? Oh, it’s a mammogram! I have yet to have one, but I hear it’s not too fun. Glad you are taking care of yourself.

  9. Ah…the dreaded mammogram. Having had a colonoscopy recently, I truly feel that trumps the mammography (pardon the pun) for being the yuckiest screening. Both are necessary evils, especially when we consider the options! Happy Valentine’s Day, and here’s hoping you get a great report!

  10. Judy C. says:

    We can bear anything for a few minutes. When it’s all said and done, just knowing that all is good with our bodies is cause for celebration.

Thanks for taking time to comment.

